Looking ahead to 2019-2022 NCAA Division I Championships

The 2019 NCAA Division I Championships will take place at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh

As we start a new year -- and enter the heart of the college wrestling season -- there might not be a better time to set our sights on the next four NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. Here's a sneak peek at the 2019-2022 NCAAs …

2019 NCAAs: Pittsburgh

The biggest event in collegiate wrestling returns to Pittsburgh for the first time in over six decades.

  • Where: The 2019 NCAAs will take place at PPG Paints Arena, in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. First opened in 2010 as Consol Energy Center, this facility which is normally the home of the NHL Pittsburgh Penguins has a seating capacity of approximately 19,700 fans.

  • Hosted by: University of Pittsburgh

  • Last time in Pittsburgh: Steel City hosted the NCAAs was back in 1957, at Fitzgerald Field House on the Pitt campus. This championship event -- which welcomed 213 athletes from over 60 schools -- was special for a number of reasons ... including as the first to crown an African-American national mat champ (Simons Roberts of the University of Iowa) … and the last college appearance of Dan Hodge, the Oklahoma Sooner fall guy, with a 46-0 overall record, with 36 of those wins by pin. The Sooners pinned down the team title that year.

    2020 NCAAs: Minneapolis

    The 2020 NCAA D1 championships will be the first Nationals to be held in an indoor football stadium ... as the "Super Bowl of College Wrestling" returns to the Twin Cities for the first time in over two decades.

  • Where: US Bank Stadium, on the east edge of downtown Minneapolis, which normally serves as the home of the NFL Minnesota Vikings ... and was the site of Super Bowl LII in early 2018. This 66,860-seat facility which resembles an all-glass Viking ship, was built on the site of the old Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, previous home of the Vikings from 1982-2013. US Bank Stadium hosted its first football game in fall 2016.

  • Hosted by: University of Minnesota

  • Last time in Minneapolis: The 1996 NCAAs were held at Target Center, the then-newish arena on the other side of downtown Minneapolis from US Bank Stadium. Among the champs crowned at year: Cary Kolat (Lock Haven), Chris Bono (Iowa State), Bill Zadick, Joe Williams and Daryl Weber (Iowa) and Les Gutches (Oregon State). The Iowa Hawkeyes ran away with the team title, with nearly twice as many team points as runner up Iowa State.

    2021 NCAAs: St. Louis

    "Meet Me in St. Louis" is the familiar refrain for college wrestling fans as the Gateway City will hose the NCAAs for the eighth time.

  • Where: Enterprise Center, on the west side of downtown St. Louis. No, it's not a new arena ... but the newest name for the 18,400-seat home of the NHL St. Louis Blues. It's the same facility first opened as Kiel Center in 1994, which later became Savvis Center, and then, more recently, Scottrade Center. St. Louis-based Enterprise Holdings -- parent company of Enterprise Rent-a-Car, National Car Rental and Alamo -- won the naming rights in July 2018.

  • Hosted by: University of Missouri

  • Last time in St. Louis: Back in 2017, Penn State won the team title with five individual champs: Zain Retherford, Jason Nolf, Vincenzo Joseph, Mark Hall, and Bo Nickal. Among the other champs: Missouri's J'den Cox, and Ohio State's Kyle Snyder.

    2022 NCAAs: Detroit

    The 2022 NCAAs signal a return trip to Motown for the first time since 2007.

  • Where: Little Caesars Arena in downtown Detroit. Opened just over a year ago, this shiny new 20,000-seat arena is home to the Detroit Pistons of the NBA and Red Wings of the NHL. Locally-based Little Caesars Enterprises -- parent company of the pizza chain with over 5,500 locations worldwide -- won the naming rights.

  • Hosted by: University of Michigan

  • Last time in Detroit: In 2007, the NCAAs were held at the Palace of Auburn Hills in north-suburban Detroit. The Minnesota Golden Gophers won their third team title, led by heavyweight champ Cole Konrad. Among the other individual champs that year: Edinboro's Gregor Gillespie, Iowa's Mark Perry, Missouri's Ben Askren, and Northwestern's Jake Herbert.
  • Comments

    Login or Register to post a comment

    Wrman (1) about 8 months ago
    Love em all, except Detroit! Nasty!
    DavidTran (1) about 3 months ago
    They are really great. And if you want to get something like that they can give you even it. I highly recommend this place for you guys...