Ohio State captures third straight title in Las Vegas

Ohio State captured its third straight title at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

LAS VEGAS -- Led by champions Joey McKenna (141), Myles Martin (184) and Kollin Moore (197), the Ohio State Buckeyes captured their third straight title at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational on Saturday.

It's Ohio State's sixth Las Vegas team title since 2009 and eighth straight top-five finish in the event.

The Buckeyes amassed 148 points and finished 32.5 points ahead of runner-up Missouri. Nebraska finished third with 105 points, while Northern Iowa (84.5) and Michigan (82.5) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Martin and Moore were the lone repeat champions.

Martin, a three-time All-American who is currently ranked No. 1 at 184 pounds, rolled to an 11-5 victory in the finals over Nebraska's Taylor Venz. He was named Outstanding Wrestler of the event.

Moore, ranked No. 3, topped unranked Eric Schultz of Nebraska 8-3 in the championship match at 197 pounds.

Ohio State's Joey McKenna defeated Jaydin Eierman of Missouri in the finals (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

McKenna, a two-time All-American and returning Big Ten champion, won the title at 141 pounds by defeating Missouri's Jaydin Eierman 6-2 in one of the event's most anticipated matchups.

Minnesota true freshman Gable Steveson, ranked No. 2, won the heavyweight title (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

Minnesota true freshman Gable Steveson, a three-time age-group world champion in freestyle, won the title at heavyweight. The 18-year-old Gopher capped off his tournament with a 12-4 major decision over No. 16 Tate Orndorff of Utah Valley. Steveson was dominant throughout the weekend, picking up bonus points in four of his five matches.

Rutgers had a pair of champions in Nick Suriano (133) and Anthony Ashnault (149).

Suriano, an NCAA runner-up last season at 125 pounds, was pushed in the semifinals by Missouri's John Erneste but prevailed 3-2. He then cruised to an 11-3 major decision in his finals match against No. 13 Micky Phillippi of Pitt.

No. 2 Anthony Ashnault of Rutgers defeated No. 3 Micah Jordan of Ohio State in the finals (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

Ashnault, ranked No. 2 by InterMat, faced No. 3 Micah Jordan of Ohio State in the finals at 149 pounds. The Rutgers senior came out strong, picking up a takedown in the first 10 seconds of the match. He would get a pair of four-point nearfalls to grab a commanding 10-1 lead. Jordan would battle back, but Ashnault held on for a 14-10 victory.

Michigan crowned a champion as Myles Amine topped Missouri's Daniel Lewis 10-7 in the finals at 174 pounds. It was a rematch of the third-place match at last year's NCAA Championships, also won by Amine.

No. 2 Sebastian Rivera celebrates after beating Oregon State's Ronnie Bresser in sudden victory (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

Sebastian Rivera (125) and Ryan Deakin (157) won titles for Northwestern.

Rivera won in sudden victory over Oregon State's Ronnie Bresser in the finals. The Northeastern sophomore trailed late before picking up a takedown off a leg attack with just under a minute remaining to take a 4-3 lead. Bresser would get an escape to send the match to sudden victory. In sudden victory, Bresser fired off an attack and was close to securing a takedown, but Rivera countered and scored a takedown for the victory.

Deakin, ranked No. 5, came through to win the title at 157 pounds with an 8-2 victory over surprise finalist Griffin Parriott of Purdue.

Nebraska's Isaiah White claimed the title at 165 pounds, beating No. 14 Mekhi Lewis of Virginia Tech 2-0 in the finals. White, ranked No. 10, was the lowest ranked wrestler to win a title in Las Vegas.


Note: InterMat ranking listed, not tournament seed.

1st: No. 2 Sebastian Rivera (Northwestern) dec. No. 3 Ronnie Bresser (Oregon State), 6-4 SV
3rd: No. 5 Sean Russell (Minnesota) dec. Brent Fleetwood (North Dakota State), 4-0
5th: No. 17 Drew Mattin (Michigan) dec. No. 12 Travis Piotrowski (Illinois), 3-2
7th: No. 9 Zeke Moisey (Nebraska) dec. No. 15 Devin Schroder (Purdue), 4-3

1st: No. 3 Nick Suriano (Rutgers) maj. dec. No. 13 Micky Phillippi (Pittsburgh), 11-3
3rd: No. 5 Luke Pletcher (Ohio State) dec. No. 7 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota), 5-4
5th: No. 9 John Erneste dec. No. 11 Montorie Bridges (Wyoming), 10-4
7th: No. 15 Chas Tucker (Cornell) by medical forfeit over No. 19 Cam Sykora (North Dakota State)

1st: No. 2 Joey McKenna (Ohio State) dec. No. 3 Jaydin Eierman (Missouri), 6-2
3rd: No. 20 Kanen Storr (Michigan) dec. No. 18 Dom Demas (Oklahoma), 5-2
5th: No. 8 Josh Alber (Northern Iowa) by medical forfeit over No. 7 Michael Carr (Illinois)
7th: Sam Krivus (Virginia) dec. Sam Turner (Wyoming), 5-3

1st: No. 2 Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers) dec. No. 3 Micah Jordan (Ohio State), 14-10
3rd: No. 9 Austin O'Connor (North Carolina) by injury default over No. 8 Brock Zacherl (Clarion)
5th: No. 7 Mitch Finesilver (Duke) dec. No. 19 Josh Heil (Campbell University), 9-4
7th: No. 6 Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa) dec. Jared Prince (Navy), 12-6

1st: No. 5 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) dec. Griffin Parriott (Purdue), 8-2
3rd: No. 3 Tyler Berger (Nebraska) dec. No. 7 Ke-Shawn Hayes (Ohio State)
5th: No. 8 Taleb Rahmani (Pittsburgh) dec. No. 6 Kennedy Monday (North Carolina), 9-2
7th: Eric Barone (Illinois) dec. No. 19 Hunter Willits (Oregon State), 4-0

1st: No. 10 Isaiah White (Nebraska) dec. No. 14 Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech), 2-0
3rd: No. 15 Demetrius Romero (Utah Valley) dec. No. 5 Logan Massa (Michigan), 9-6
5th: No. 6 Branson Ashworth (Wyoming) by medical forfeit over No. 9 Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa)
7th: No. 13 Connor Flynn (Missouri) dec. No. 12 Joey Gunther (Illinois), 4-0

1st: No. 3 Myles Amine (Michigan) dec. No. 4 Daniel Lewis (Missouri), 10-7
3rd: No. 9 Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa) by medical forfeit over No. 11 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska)
5th: Spencer Carey (Navy) by medical forfeit over No. 13 Dylan Lydy (Purdue)
7th: No. 20 Devin Skatzka (Minnesota) dec. No. 18 Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley), 9-4

1st: No. 1 Myles Martin (Ohio State) dec. No. 3 Taylor Venz (Nebraska), 11-5
3rd: No. 10 Drew Foster (Northern Iowa) dec. No. 5 Zack Zavatsky (Virginia Tech), 9-5
5th: No. 18 Lou DePrez (Binghamton) dec. No. 9 Max Dean (Cornell), 5-3 SV
7th: No. 13 Nino Bonaccorsi (Pittsburgh) maj. dec. Will Schany (Virginia), 14-3

1st: No. 3 Kollin Moore (Ohio State) dec. Eric Schultz (Nebraska), 8-3
3rd: Jay Aiello (Virginia) dec. No. 8 Nathan Traxler (Stanford), 4-2
5th: No. 13 Christian Brunner (Purdue) by medical forfeit over Greg Bulsak (Clarion)
7th: No. 14 Tom Sleigh (Virginia Tech) by medical forfeit over Tanner Orndorff (Utah Valley)

1st: No. 2 Gable Steveson (Minnesota) maj. dec. No. 16 Tate Orndorff (Utah Valley), 12-4
3rd: No. 20 Zach Elam (Missouri) dec. Demetrius Thomas (Pittsburgh), 3-1 SV
5th: No. 13 Cory Daniel (North Carolina) by medical forfeit over Chase Singletary (Ohio State
7th: Brian Andrews (Wyoming) by medical forfeit over No. 15 Joey Goodhart (Drexel)


Login or Register to post a comment