Martin, Moore look to repeat in Las Vegas, Ohio State leads

Kollin Moore advanced to the finals at 197 pounds (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

LAS VEGAS -- Ohio State leads the team race at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational after advancing four wrestlers to the finals. Buckeye All-Americans Myles Martin (184) and Kollin Moore (197) will look to repeat as champions in Las Vegas. Ohio State's other finalists are Joey McKenna (141) and Micah Jordan (149).

Missouri sits in second place and has two wrestlers in the finals, while Nebraska is currently in third place and has three finalists.

Two unseeded wrestlers reached the finals, Griffin Parriott (Purdue) at 157 pounds and Eric Schultz (Nebraska) at 197 pounds.

Tonight's final round -- which includes championship and third-place matches -- is scheduled to begin at 3 p.m. PT.

Semifinal results

Note: InterMat ranking is listed, not tournament seed.

No. 2 Sebastian Rivera (Northwestern) dec. Brent Fleetwood (North Dakota State), 9-3
No. 3 Ronnie Bresser (Oregon State) dec. No. 5 Sean Russell (Minnesota), 2-1

No. 3 Nick Suriano (Rutgers) dec. No. 9 John Erneste (Missouri), 3-2
No. 13 Micky Phillippi (Pittsburgh) dec. No. 5 Luke Pletcher (Ohio State), 2-1

No. 2 Joey McKenna (Ohio State) dec. No. 8 Josh Alber (Northern Iowa), 8-1
No. 3 Jaydin Eierman (Missouri) dec. No. 7 Mike Carr (Illinois), 5-2

No. 2 Anthony Ashnault (Rutgers) maj. dec. No. 7 Mitch Finesilver (Duke), 12-4
No. 3 Micah Jordan (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 8 Brock Zacherl (Clarion), 19-6

Griffin Parriott (Purdue) dec. No. 8 Taleb Rahmani (Pittsburgh), 5-3
No. 5 Ryan Deakin (Northwestern) maj. dec. No. 6 Kennedy Monday (North Carolina), 9-1

No. 10 Isaiah White (Nebraska) dec. No. 5 Logan Massa (Michigan), 6-2
No. 14 Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 9 Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa), 2-0

No. 3 Myles Amine (Michigan) dec. No. 11 Mikey Labriola (Nebraska), 5-1
No. 4 Daniel Lewis (Missouri) pinned No. 9 Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa), 1:54

No. 1 Myles Martin (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 9 Max Dean (Cornell), 17-7
No. 3 Taylor Venz (Nebraska) dec. No. 10 Drew Foster (Northern Iowa), 11-8

No. 3 Kollin Moore (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 13 Christian Brunner (Purdue), 22-11
Eric Schultz (Nebraska) dec. Greg Bulsak (Clarion), 8-6

No. 2 Gable Steveson (Minnesota) dec. No. 13 Cory Daniel (North Carolina), 9-3
No. 16 Tate Orndorff (Utah Valley) dec. Chase Singletary (Ohio State), 8-2


Login or Register to post a comment