Nine Oklahoma State wrestlers win titles at OCU Open

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Oklahoma State wrestlers brought home nine individual titles from the Oklahoma City University Open on Sunday afternoon at the team's first event of the 2018-19 season.

In addition to those titles, four Cowboys fell to teammates in the finals bouts and another finished third.

Chandler Rogers pinned his way to a title at 174 pounds and didn't spend more than four minutes on the mat for any of his matches. The Cowboy pinned Wayland Baptist's Tommy Rosen-St. John in 3:56, UNT's Drake Dudley in 1:44 and University of Central Oklahoma's Miguel Barreras in 1:36.

Redshirt junior Nick Piccininni nabbed the Cowboys' first title of the day in a round-robin bracket at 125 pounds. The Cowboy notched a fall in 2:30 over University of the Ozarks' Corey Muniz then defeated New Mexico Highlands' Dominic Rivera by technical fall, 19-4.

Daton Fix defeated teammate Andrew Nieman in a 19-4 technical fall in the 133-pound finals. Fix advanced in the first round by forfeit and knocked off Oklahoma's Kristofer Hudson, 19-4, to reach the final. Nieman went 2-1 on the day with a 9-6 decision over University of Central Oklahoma's Rio Zamora and a 2:37 fall over unattached Mike Jones.

It was an all-Cowboy bout as Kaden Gfeller upended teammate Mike Magaldo in a 6-1 decision in the finals. Gfeller went 5-0 to win the 141-pound freshman/sophomore division a year ago and repeated this season in the open, defeating Si Nhamnhouane (Ozarks) by fall in 1:42 and unattached Conner Ward, 10-1. Magaldo pinned unattached Brice O'Hara in 2:40 to advance to the finals.

Boo Lewallen made his way to a second-straight OCU Open title at 149 pounds pinning unattached Michael Triplett in 4:58 and then notching a technical fall against Wayland Baptist's Joseph Rios.

At 157 pounds, Jonce Blaylock picked up decisions over Ouachita Baptist's Tyler Mann and unattached Mario Rodriguez before meeting Wyatt Sheets in the finals. Blaylock defeated Sheets in a 7-5 decision after Sheets collected a fall in 1:07 over University of North Texas' Scott Akers to make the finals.

Transfer Dakota Geer went 3-0 on the day to take first at 184 pounds. Geer pinned his first two oppenents before collecting a 10-2 major decision over Oklahoma's Matthew Waddell in the finals. Bear Hughes also competed at the weight, garnering a third-place finish.

Senior Preston Weigel collected the Cowboy's seventh top finish of the day when he defeated Andrew Marsden 4-0 in the finals. Weigel recorded a fall over New Mexico Highlands' Chris Collins and a technical fall against Riley Williams of Wayland Baptist earlier in the day. Marsden topped teammate Austin Harris 6-3 en route to his second-place finish.

Wrestling unattached in the freshman/sophomore division, Travis Wittlake and Colton Denney brought home first-place finishes. All but one of Wittlake's matches came with bonus points. He topped OCU's Chase Vincent in the finals, 13-3. Denney took on fellow Cowboy Gavin Stika in his finals bout and won a 5-2 decision. Freshman Anthony Montalvo also made the podium with a third-place fall against unattached Ivan Balavage.

The Cowboys return to the mat for regular-season competition when they travel to South Dakota State on Nov. 17 and Minnesota Nov. 18.


Login or Register to post a comment