Green selected No. 1 in AWL draft, Oliver vs. Retherford headlines Nov. 30 card

Jordan Oliver defeated Zain Retherford in the semifinals of the U.S. Open in 2017 (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

Two-time world medalist James Green was taken with the No. 1 overall selection by Kyle Dake for the inaugural American Wrestling League, which will take place on Nov. 30 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Team captains Dake and David Taylor, both world champions in freestyle this year, selected 20 wrestlers to fill their rosters.

After Dake selected Green, Taylor had the next two picks and drafted Alex Dieringer and Kyven Gadson.

The draft set the stage for several intriguing matchups at the Nov. 30 event, highlighted by Jordan Oliver (Team Dake) vs. Zain Retherford (Team Taylor) at 65 kilograms, Adam Coon (Team Taylor) vs. Dom Bradley (Team Dake) at 125 kilograms, Tony Ramos (Team Dake) vs. Cory Clark (Team Taylor) at 61 kilograms.

Each of the 10 starters on the card will earn $2,500 for competing and the winners will receive an additional $5,000.

The Nov. 30 event will be streamed live on

Team Dake:
57 kilograms: Zach Sanders/Alan Waters
61 kilograms: Tony Ramos/ Nick Simmons
65 kilograms: Jordan Oliver/Josh Kindig
70 kilograms: James Green/Frank Molinaro
74 kilograms: Isaiah Martinez/Richie Lewis
79 kilograms: Nate Jackson/Josh Asper
86 kilograms: Nick Heflin/ Pat Downey
92 kilograms: Hayden Zillmer/Deron Winn
97 kilograms: Jacob Kasper/Ty Walz
125 kilograms: Dom Bradley/Ceron Francisco

Team Taylor:
57 kilograms: Nico Megaludis/Frank Perrelli
61 kilograms: Cory Clark/Bryce Meredith
65 kilograms: Zain Retherford/Evan Henderson
70 kilograms: Brandon Sorensen/Anthony Collica
74 kilograms: Tommy Gantt/Joey Lavallee
79 kilograms: Alex Dieringer/Dan Vallimont
86 kilograms: Sam Brooks/Brett Pfarr
92 kilograms: Mike Macchiavello/Ben Provisor
97 kilograms: Kyven Gadson/Blaize Cabell
125 kilograms: Adam Coon/Robby Smith


Login or Register to post a comment

clibin009 (1) about 9 months ago