UNC Pembroke routs King to clinch program's first ECAC title

UNC Pempbroke clinched the program's first Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) title

BRISTOL, Tenn. -- The UNC Pembroke wrestling team tacked up 20 takedowns and two near falls on the way to capturing the first eight individual matchups on the night and the Braves steamrolled 22nd-ranked King, 35-12, to clinch the program's first Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) title on Monday evening.

It was the sixth win in the last seven dual meets for the Braves (12-10, 5-1 ECAC) who won their final five ECAC matchups of the season to secure the conference crown. It is the first conference title of any kind for the program since it tallied five six Carolinas Conference championships from 1977-1984. The program competed as an NCAA Independent from 1992-2015.

Nick Daggett kicked off the night with a dominating 19-6 major decision over Reed Jacks in the 125-pound matchup, and Jayquon McEntyre multiplied the momentum ten-fold with an 8-5 comeback win over third-ranked Dustin Kirk at 133 pounds. The Black & Gold would continue to run the table in the next three matchups, including a last-minute comeback by Tyler Makosy in his 16-12 decision over Landon Goforth at 149 pounds, to go out in front 17-0 before the Tornado knew what hit it. Luke McDonough (141 pounds) and Eric Milks (157) would add to the onslaught with wins by decision as well.

UNCP benefitted from forfeit victories by the hosts at 165 and 174 pounds to increase its lead out to 29-0 and clinch the team victory, but Faris Teia provided the exclamation mark on the night with a third-period pin of Kody Eichlin in the 184-pound matchup.

The Braves will now focus their sights on the postseason when they pack up their show and head to Findlay, Ohio, for the NCAA Midwest Super Regional inside Findlay University's Koehler Fitness & Recreation Complex. Wrestling action will get underway on February 23 and conclude on February 24.

The top four finishers at each weight class in that event will advance to the NCAA Division II Championships, March 9-10, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

125: Nick Daggett (UNCP) maj. dec. Reed Jacks (KING), 19-6 (UNCP 4-0)
133: Jayquon McEntryre (UNCP) dec. #4 Dustin Kirk (KING), 8-5 (UNCP 7-0)
141: Luke McDonough (UNCP) dec. Jacob Wynn (KING), 9-2 (UNCP 10-0)
149: Tyler Makosy (UNCP) dec. Landon Goforth (KING), 16-12 (UNCP 13-0)
157: Eric Milks (UNCP) Maj. dec. Matthew Danner (KING), 10-2 (UNCP 17-0)
165: Rodney Shepard (UNCP) wins by forfeit (UNCP 23-0)
174: Brandon Sloop (UNCP) wins by forfeit (UNCP 29-0)
184: Faris Teia (UNCP) pinned Kody Eichlin (KING), 6:44 (UNCP 35-0)
197: Elijah Seay (KING) pinned Bryce Walker (UNCP), 4:18 (UNCP 35-6)
285: Eldon Valery, Jr. (KING) wins by forfeit (UNCP 35-12)


Login or Register to post a comment