No. 26 Broken Arrow uses 6 champs to outlast depth of No. 27 Southeast Polk

Like it has almost every year, Saturday's Gardner-Edgerton Invitational was a slug-fest between No. 26 Broken Arrow (Okla.) and No. 27 Southeast Polk (Iowa). The sixteen team event features teams from five states, and starts with four preliminary pools and then semifinal and final rounds; pool winners finish top four, those finishing second in a pool can finish as high as fifth.

Scoring 234 points, Broken Arrow used six weight class champions to win the tournament title. Those champions for the Tigers were Jared Hill (106), Blake Gonzalez (126), Reece Witcraft (132), Caleb Wise (160), Gavin Potter (195), and No. 14 Zach Marcheselli (195). Wise had a notable 4-2 overtime victory over Junior freestyle All-American Jalin Harper (Manhattan, Kansas) in his championship final, while Potter had a key head-on victory, beating Gable Christenson (Southeast Polk) 3-0 in his title bout.

Only four other Broken Arrow wrestlers finished top five: Bryce Mattioda (170) placed third, while Blazik Perez (113), Brady Mattioda (152), and Zeno Marcheselli (182) were fifth.

On the other hand, Southeast Polk used extreme depth to finish narrowly behind the Tigers with 227 points. The lone champions for the Rams were the pair of Kobey Pritchard (120) and Cade Devos (145). Ten other wrestlers earned a top five finish, including a pair of backups in Caden Baarda (126) and Nathan Marchand (138); those two were in the lineup instead of returning state runners-up Gauge Perrien and Nathan Lendt respectively. Also finishing fifth was Trent Nelson (160).

The trio of runner-up finishers were Lance Runyon (152), Thaddeus Breitsprecker (170), and Gable Christenson (195); Devin Harmison (106) and Josiah Rowland (285) earned third; while Ryan Strickland (132) and Matt Parker (220) each placed fourth.

Rounding out the tournament's weight class champions were Caleb Lazure (Skutt Catholic, Neb.) at 113 pounds, Baylor Smith (Owosso, Okla.) at 138, Bubba Wilson and Hunter Christensen (Manhattan, Kansas) at 152 and 285, Terrell Garraway (Olathe North, Kansas) at 170, and Cade Lautt (St. James Academy, Kansas) at 182.


Login or Register to post a comment