Ohio State wins title in Vegas for second straight year

Kollin Moore claimed the title at 197 pounds (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

LAS VEGAS -- For the second season in a row, Ohio State Wrestling claimed the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational team title. The Buckeyes cleared the field by 15.5 points despite lacking the services of three All-Americans (including two national champions) missing from the lineup. Three individual champions were crowned while donning the Scarlet & Gray -- Luke Pletcher (133 lbs), Myles Martin (184 lbs) and Kollin Moore (197 lbs). In addition, four more Buckeyes found their way to the podium and placed inside the top-4 of their respective weight classes.

The Buckeyes wrestled 50 bouts over the course of two days, winning at a 78% rate (39-11). Bonus points came in a flurry as well, racking up seven pins, three tech falls and seven major decisions (17 of 39 matches).

M. Jordan rattled off three falls and a pair of major decisions single-handedly. Martin wasn't far behind with a pin, two tech falls and a major decision.

Pletcher, Martin and Moore each extended their flawless season ledgers while capturing individual crowns. Pletcher and Martin improved to 13-0 and Moore now sits at 9-0.

A complete recap to come.

Team Standings

1. Ohio State 155.5
2. Michigan 140.0
3. Arizona State 113.5
4. Northern Iowa 104.0
5. Nebraska 100.5
6. Virginia Tech 89.5
7. Central Michigan 82.0
8. Cornell 62.0
9. Wyoming 61.0
10. Stanford 58.5


1st: No. 16 Taylor Lamont (Utah Valley) dec. No. 8 Sean Russell (Edinboro), 4-3
3rd: No. 3 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota) maj. dec. No. 18 Drew Mattin (Michigan), 9-0
5th: No. 11 Connor Schram (Stanford) by medical forfeit over Jacob Schwarm (Northern Iowa)
7th: No. 15 Louie Hayes (Virginia) dec. Christian Moody (Oklahoma), 6-5

1st: No. 9 Luke Pletcher (Ohio State) dec. No. 13 Josh Terao (American), 9-2
3rd: No. 7 Jack Mueller (Virginia) dec. Austin Desanto (Drexel), 7-0
5th: No. 2 Stevan Micic (Michigan) dec. No. 11 Korbin Myers (Edinboro), 8-2
7th: No. 6 Dom Forys (Pittsburgh) maj. dec. Zach Sherman (North Carolina), 15-3

1st: No. 12 Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) dec. No. 13 Josh Alber (Northern Iowa), 8-2
3rd: No. 3 Bryce Meredith (Wyoming) dec. No. 7 Chad Red (Nebraska), 5-3
5th: No. 20 Mason Smith (Central Michigan) by medical forfeit over Nick Zanetta (Pitt)
7th: No. 8 Tommy Thorn (Minnesota) pinned No. 19 Kanen Storr (Iowa State), 2:36

1st: No. 6 Justin Oliver (Central Michigan) dec. No. 9 Troy Heilmann (North Carolina), 9-7
3rd: No. 8 Ke-Shawn Hayes (Ohio State) dec. No. 3 Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa), 4-3
5th: No. 12 Josh Maruca (Arizona State) by medical forfeit over No. 5 Colton McCrystal (Nebraska)
7th: No. 17 Zander Wick (Wisconsin) dec. Michael Sprague (American), 7-5

1st: No. 11 Alec Pantaleo (Michigan) dec. No. 6 Micah Jordan (Ohio State), 10-3
3rd: No. 5 Josh Shields (Arizona State) dec. No. 4 Tyler Berger (Nebraska), 6-4
5th: No. 20 Archie Colgan (Wyoming) dec. Coleman Hammond (CSU Bakersfield), 6-4 SV
7th: No. 19 Taleb Rahmani (Pittsburgh) pinned Tristan Rifanburg (Binghamton), 2:04

1st: No. 5 David McFadden (Virginia Tech) pinned No. 17 Evan Wick (Wisconsin), 2:58
3rd: No. 11 Isaiah White (Nebraska) dec. No. 7 Te'Shan Campbell (Ohio State), 4-1
5th: Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State) by medical forfeit over No. 9 Nick Wanzek (Minnesota)
7th: No. 8 Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) maj. dec. No. 18 Jon Jay Chavez (Cornell), 16-7

1st: No. 1 Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) dec. No. 3 Bo Jordan (Ohio State), 9-6
3rd: No. 6 Myles Amine (Michigan) dec. No. 8 Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa), 12-8
5th: No. 7 Jadaen Bernstein (Navy) dec. No. 15 Keaton Subjeck (Stanford), 7-5
7th: Yoanse Mejias (Oklahoma) dec. Dylan Lydy (Purdue), 6-5

1st: No. 2 Myles Martin (Ohio State) dec. No. 5 Domenic Abounader (Michigan), 8-5
3rd: Taylor Venz (Nebraska) dec. No. 6 Zack Zavatsky (Virginia Tech), 9-3
5th: No. 11 Ricky Robertson (Wisconsin) dec. No. 14 Steven Schneider (Binghamton), 5-2
7th: No. 7 Drew Foster (Northern Iowa) dec. No. 8 Jordan Ellingwood (Central Michigan), 3-

1st: No. 1 Kollin Moore (Ohio State) pinned No. 3 Jared Haught (Virginia Tech), 1:52
3rd: No. 14 Jeric Kasunic (American) dec. Jacob Holschlag (Northern Iowa), 5-2
5th: No. 9 Matt Williams (CSU-Bakersfield) dec. Stephen Loiseau (Drexel), 7-0
7th: No. 16 Nathan Traxler (Stanford) by medical forfeit over Jacob Seely (Northern Colorado)

1st: No. 2 Adam Coon (Michigan) dec. No. 4 Tanner Hall (Arizona State), 4-2
3rd: No. 6 Jacob Kasper (Duke) dec. No. 13 Nathan Butler (Stanford), 3-1
5th: Shawn Streck (Purdue) pinned No. 8 Ryan Solomon (Pitt), 0:33
7th: Andrew Dunn (Virginia Tech) maj. dec. Jeramy Sweany (Cornell), 14-6


Login or Register to post a comment

hostcity (1) about 11 months ago
The prior comment is inaccurate. In Cleveland, the biggest Ohio State butt kissing city in America, the Buckeyes are referred to as THE Ohio State. You must acknowledge their greatness and superiority and proudly proclaim that any Buckeye fan is better than everybody else because of the football team. That is what is stated constantly in the Cleveland Plain Dealer, the biggest Ohio State butt kissing paper in American. So, next time you talk about THE Ohio State, please refer to them properly. They are superior to everybody because they say so. After all, it's right in the Bible. Look it up.