Nine Iowa wrestlers win titles at Luther Open

DECORAH, Iowa -- The University of Iowa wrestling team won nine titles Saturday at the 2017 Luther Open, including seven championships in the Elite Division and two more in the Silver Division.

Four true freshmen won titles in the Elite Division. Justin Stickley (125), Max Murin (141), Jacob Warner (197), and Aaron Costello (285) combined for 16 wins -- seven by fall, three by major decision, and one by technical fall -- to win championships in their Hawkeye debuts.

Sophomores Jeren Glosser (149) and Jeremiah Moody (165), and senior Phillip Laux (133) also won titles. Glosser registered a team-high three falls and Moody scored bonus points in all four matches. Laux was 3-0 with a fall and major decision.

Three title matches were intrasquad bouts. Perez Perez (125), Carter Happel (141), and Stephen Alvarez (149) all placed runner-up in their respective brackets.

True freshmen Myles Wilson went 4-0 with two technical falls en route to a 184-pound title in the Silver Division, and Sam Cook went 4-0 with a fall and technical fall to win the 197-pound Silver Division title.

The Hawkeyes had a collective record of 64-15 with 42 bonus point wins. Iowa totaled 23 falls, eight technical falls, and 11 major decisions.

Iowa returns to action Friday hosting Iowa Central, Buffalo, and North Dakota State in the Iowa City Duals at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Competition begins at 10 a.m. (CT). Tickets are available at


Login or Register to post a comment