Oregon State cruises to victory over Eastern Oregon

Photo/Dave Nichitani, Oregon State Athletics

CORVALLIS, Ore. -- Redshirt senior 141-pounder Jack Hathaway and redshirt junior 197-pounder Corey Griego each had falls helping the Beavers to a 42-6 win over the Mountaineers of Eastern Oregon on Thursday night in Gill Coliseum.

"I liked our guys on the top position, I think we need to work a lot more on our feet, the timing isn't quite there yet," began head coach Jim Zalesky. "Overall though, I thought we wrestled tough on top."

Oregon State left the 125-pound spot open, forfeiting the first bout of the evening.

Redshirt freshman Devan Turner used a 4-2 decision at 133, pulling the score to 6-3 in favor of Eastern Oregon. "Turner, even though he only won by two points he was trying to turn in the top position," said Zalesky.
"That's one of the things we've been working on, turning on top."

Hathaway, the 18th ranked 141-pounder in the country, made quick work of his opponent earning a fall in 2-minutes and 41-seconds. In his first career match for the Beavers, sophomore Kurt Mode won by tech. fall 18-2 in the second period putting Oregon State ahead 14-6.

After earning the right for the spot at 157 pounds in the Orange & Black Intrasquad, true freshman Hunter Willits won by major decision 14-3. Redshirt-sophomore Billy Bigelow, also in his first bout as a Beaver, won by decision 10-3 at 165 pounds.

Freshman 174-pounder Myles Terry won by major decision 12-0, while redshirt sophomore Seth McLeod cruised to a tech. fall 16-0.

The nation's 16th ranked 197-pounder Griego rolled to a fall in just 56-seconds. In the heavyweight bout redshirt senior Cody Crawford won by forfeit.

Up next the Beavers travel to the Mike Clock Open on Sunday, Nov. 12.

Follow Us on Social
For more information on the Oregon State wrestling team, visit or follow the team's official Twitter account at, on Facebook at, or on Instagram at

Oregon State Athletics' Everyday Champions Culture
Through the power of sport, we help people discover and pursue their passions, talents and purpose in order to live a life of balance and positive contribution.

125: Mhar Cabella (EOU), wins by forfeit of Oregon State.
133: Devan Turner, dec. Blake McNall, 4-2.
141: Jack Hathaway, pinned AJ Rockwell, 2:41.
149: Kurt Mode, tech. fall Jacob Posey, 18-2.
157: Hunter Willits, major dec. Drake Randall, 14-3.
165: Billy Bigelow, dec. Marco Retano, 10-3.
174: Myles Terry, major dec. Jacob Dupuis, 12-0.
184: Seth McLeod, tech. fall Keegan Dorsey, 16-0.
197: Corey Griego, pinned Eric Fan, 0:56
HWT: Cody Crawford, wins by forfeit of Eastern Oregon


Login or Register to post a comment