Otterbein rolls to victory over Lourdes

SYLVANIA, Ohio -- The Otterbein wrestling team secured its first dual win of the young season Thursday night on the road, overcoming some early adversity to walk away with a 40-9 victory over host Lourdes University.

The Cardinals will now take a 10-day break before getting back on the mat at the John Carroll Duals, scheduled for Sunday, Nov. 19 in University Heights.

Sophomore Jackson Lakso opened the action at Lourdes with a strong 11-2 major decision, but Otterbein then fell behind as Lourdes won the next two matches and grabbed a 9-4 lead.

It would be all Cardinals from that point, finding energy behind a 60-second pin from Jake Vaughan at 149 pounds, freshman Christian Koch receiving a forfeit victory at 157 and then entertaining sophomore Willy Plaisir notching a fall within two minutes of his 165-pound match.

Otterbein put the match away for good behind three-straight major decision courtesy of Joey Tromba, Donny Didion and Luke Hess, who was filling in for usual starter Drew Kasper. Heavyweight Nate Temple polished off the team performance with a second-round pin.

The Cards will soon open Ohio Athletic Conference action following the JCU Duals, hosting Mount Union in the league opener for both teams on Tuesday, Nov. 28 at 7 p.m.

125 Jackson Lakso (Otterbein University) over Tyler King (Lourdes University) (MD 11-2) 0 4
133 Tyler Roberts (Lourdes University) over Santino Disabato (Otterbein University) (Dec 5-3) 3 0
141 Reilly Heater (Lourdes University) over Trent Duffy (Otterbein University) (Fall 3:39) 6 0
149 Jake Vaughan (Otterbein University) over Troy Wilson (Lourdes University) (Fall 1:00) 0 6
157 Christian Koch (Otterbein University) over Unknown (For.) 0 6
165 Willy Plaisir (Otterbein University) over Stefan Johnson (Lourdes University) (Fall 1:52) 0 6
174 Joey Tromba (Otterbein University) over Kyree Wiggins (Lourdes University) (MD 13-3) 0 4
184 Donny Didion (Otterbein University) over Nicholas Caruso (Lourdes University) (MD 10-0) 0 4
197 Luke Hess (Otterbein University) over Seth Campbell (Lourdes University) (MD 10-2) 0 4
285 Nate Temple (Otterbein University) over Benjamin Ferguson (Lourdes University) (Fall 4:02) 0 6


Login or Register to post a comment