Burroughs elected chair of UWW Athletes Commission

Jordan Burroughs with his gold medal from the 2017 World Championships (Photo/Tony Rotundo,

CORSIER-SUR-VEVEY -- United World Wrestling has announced seven new members of the organization's Athletes Commission. The wrestlers were voted onto the commission by their fellow athletes at the 2017 Senior World Wrestling championships last month in Paris.

In the commission's first act, four-time world champion and 2012 Olympic champion Jordan BURROUGHS was selected to chair the commission. Burroughs will be a voting member of the United World Wrestling bureau and replaces 2008 Olympic champion Carol HUYNH (CAN) who has served in the role since it was first established in 2013.

The Athletes' Commission was established in 2013 with the role of protecting the rights and interests of all United World Wrestling Olympic style athletes. The Athletes' Commission members reach out and communicate with active athletes as peers to collect feedback.

United World Wrestling's Athletes Commission

Odunayo ADEKUOROYE (NGR): Adekuoroye (along with Tunisia's Marwa Amri) became the first woman from Africa to reach the gold-medal match at the World Championships in women's wrestling, doing so in Paris. She was a world bronze medalist at the World Championships in 2015.

Jordan BURROUGHS (USA) -- CHAIR: Burroughs recently claimed his fourth world title in freestyle at the 2017 World Championships in Paris. He was an Olympic champion at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Komeil GHASEMI (IRI): Ghasemi is a two-time Olympic medalist in freestyle, claiming bronze in 2012 and silver in 2016. He was also a world silver medalist in 2014.

Arsen JULFALAKYAN (ARM): Julfalakyan, a three-time Olympian in Greco-Roman, captured a silver medal at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. He has also been a four-time world medalist, winning a world title in 2014.

Sofia MATTSSON (SWE): Mattsson won an Olympic bronze medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. In addition, she has five world medals, including a world gold in 2009.

Mélonin NOUMONVI (FRA): Noumonvi is a two-time world medalist in Greco-Roman, winning a world title in 2014. He competed at the Olympic Games in 2008 and 2012.

SUN Yanan (CHN): Sun won a bronze medal at the 2016 Olympic Games in women's wrestling. She was also a world champion in 2013, and won a world bronze in 2012.

United World Wrestling is the international governing body of wrestling and is headquartered in Corsier--Sur-¬Vevey, Switzerland. To learn more about United World Wrestling and the activities of its 179 national federations, please visit:, Instagram, Facebook or Twitter.


Login or Register to post a comment