Lowe: Solid collection of talent at Folkstyle Nationals

Starting this morning, and going through Saturday afternoon, over 1300 Cadet and Junior wrestlers will assemble on the campus of the University of Northern Iowa for the USA Wrestling Folkstyle National Championships.

Zahid Valencia (Photo/John Sachs,
There will be two sessions of wrestling on Friday at the UNI-Dome to narrow the field down to the semifinals on the championship side, those rounds starting at 10:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. CT. Wrestling on Saturday will take place in two sessions. The first session at 8:30 a.m. will take place at the UNI-Dome, and include the semifinals as well as all consolation including matches for third through eighth place. The championship match, as well as those necessary for true second, will be conducted at the McLeod Center starting at noon.

Nineteen wrestlers ranked in their scholastic weight class will compete in the Junior folkstyle event, with five such wrestlers competing in the Cadet event. Below is a listing of those wrestlers by competing weight class.

Junior Folkstyle:
113: No. 14 at 106 Matthew Schmitt (Platte County, Mo.)
126: No. 18 at 120 Mitch McKee (St. Michael-Albertville, Minn.)
132: No. 19 Dusty Hone (Cedar City, Utah)
145: No. 8 at 152 Grant Leeth (Kearney, Mo.), No. 12 Kamaal Abdush-Shakur (Parkview, Ga.), No. 18 at 138 Max Thomsen (Union, Iowa)
152: No. 1 at 132 Zahid Valencia (St. John Bosco, Calif.), No. 5 at 145 Joe Smith (Stillwater, Okla.), No. 11 at 145 Tommy Forte (Mishawaka, Ind.), No. 18 at 145 Bryce Steiert (Waverly-Shell Rock, Iowa), No. 20 Tagen Lambotte (Rossville, Kan.)
170: No. 3 Anthony Valencia (St. John Bosco, Calif.), No. 6 Chandler Rogers (Stillwater, Okla.), No. 8 Kimball (Maple Mountain, Utah), No. 20 Bryce Martin (Bakersfield, Calif.)
195: No. 7 Preston Weigel (Hays, Kan.), No. 16 Derek Maisonet (Plano, Ill.)
220: No. 10 Fletcher Miller (Kokomo, Ind.)
285: No. 9 Adarios Jones (Moline, Ill.)

Cadet Folkstyle:
113: No. 7 at 106 Ben Freeman (Walled Lake Central, Mich.), No. 17 at 106 Corbin Nirschl (Basheor-Linwood, Kan.)
120: No. 3 at 113 Daton Fix (Sand Springs, Okla.)
170: No. 12 Beau Breske (Hartford Union, Wis.)
182: No. 14 at 170 Keegan Moore (Jackson County Central, Minn.)


Login or Register to post a comment

Colorado-Hawkeye (1) about 4 years ago
once again, in regards to Max Thomsen, Union HS in La Porte City is different than Union Iowa. You always reflected this even in thee ranking until just recently. Did we hit a character limit in on this web site lol!!