Big Ten pre-seeds released, PSU has five No. 1 seeds

ROSEMONT Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference announced the preliminary seeds for the 2014 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, which are set for March 8-9 on the campus of the University of Wisconsin in Madison, Wis. Five schools boast at least one top-seeded wrestler, with Penn State leading the way with five. Iowa, Michigan, Ohio State and Penn State will bring a seeded wrestler in each of the 10 weight classes, while Minnesota, Nebraska and Wisconsin each boast a seeded grappler in nine classes.

The pre-seeds, as voted on by the conference's coaches, rank the top eight wrestlers in five weight classes, along with all 12 starters in five weight classes due to the Big Ten receiving eight or more NCAA Championships qualifier allocations in those classes. Each team enters the championships with a seeded wrestler in the 133-, 157-, 165-, 197- and 285-pound weight classes.

Penn State holds five No. 1 seeds, with 125-pounder Nico Megaludis, 141-pounder Zain Retherford, 165-pounder David Taylor, 184-pounder Ed Ruth and 197-pounder Morgan McIntosh earning top billing in their weight classes. Nebraska brings two top-seeded grapplers into the championships, while Iowa, Michigan and Wisconsin each hold one top-ranked wrestler. The Hawkeyes' Tony Ramos (133), Wolverines' Adam Coon (285) and Badgers' Isaac Jordan (157) have each earned No. 1 seeds, while the Huskers' Jake Sueflohn (149) and Robert Kokesh (174) round out the group of top-ranked grapplers.

Four of this year's top seeds advanced to the final of their weight class at last year's Big Ten Championships, including two who took home titles. Ruth and Taylor each won their third conference crowns a season ago and aim to become just the 12th and 13th four-time winners in Big Ten history. Ramos and Sueflohn both advanced to the championship finale in their respective weight classes last year. This season, three freshmen earned No. 1 seeds entering the championships, including Coon, Jordan and Retherford.

For more information on the 2014 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, visit the Big Ten Championships Central page on Wisconsin's website. The complete list of Big Ten Championships pre-seeds can be found below.

1. Nico Megaludis (Penn State)
2. Jesse Delgado (Illinois)
3. Cory Clark (Iowa)
4. Ryan Taylor (Wisconsin)
5. Conor Youtsey (Michigan)
6. Tim Lambert (Nebraska)
7. Camden Eppert (Purdue)
8. Nick Roberts (Ohio State)

1. Tony Ramos (Iowa)
2. Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)
3. David Thorn (Minnesota)
4. Cashe Quiroga (Purdue)
5. Zane Richards (Illinois)
6. Johnni DiJulius (Ohio State)
7. Jimmy Gulibon (Penn State)
8. Rossi Bruno (Michigan)
9. Shawn Nagel (Nebraska)
10. Dom Malone (Northwestern)
11. Joe Duca (Indiana)
12. Garth Yenter (Michigan State)

1. Zain Retherford (Penn State)
2. Logan Stieber (Ohio State)
3. Chris Dardanes (Minnesota)
4. Stephen Dutton (Michigan)
5. Josh Dziewa (Iowa)
6. Steven Rodrigues (Illinois)
7. Danny Sabatello (Purdue)
8. Jessie Thielke (Wisconsin)

1. Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska)
2. Nick Dardanes (Minnesota)
3. Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern)
4. Brody Grothus (Iowa)
5. Eric Grajales (Michigan)
6. Ian Paddock (Ohio State)
7. James English (Penn State)
8. Brandon Nelsen (Purdue)

1. Isaac Jordan (Wisconsin)
2. James Green (Nebraska)
3. Dylan Ness (Minnesota)
4. Derek St. John (Iowa)
5. Dylan Alton (Penn State)
6. Taylor Walsh (Indiana)
7. Zac Brunson (Illinois)
8. Brian Murphy (Michigan)
9. Alex Griffin (Purdue)
10. Ben Sullivan (Northwestern)
11. Randy Languis (Ohio State)
12. Roger Wildmo (Michigan State)

1. David Taylor (Penn State)
2. Nick Moore (Iowa)
3. Pierce Harger (Northwestern)
4. Dan Yates (Michigan)
5. Jackson Morse (Illinois)
6. Danny Zilverberg (Minnesota)
7. Ryan LeBlanc (Indiana)
8. Austin Wilson (Nebraska)
9. Pat Robinson (Purdue)
10. Joe Grandominico (Ohio State)
11. Bobby Nash (Michigan State)
12. Ben Cox (Wisconsin)

1. Robert Kokesh (Nebraska)
2. Matt Brown (Penn State)
3. Mike Evans (Iowa)
4. Logan Storley (Minnesota)
5. Tony Dallago (Illinois)
6. Mark Martin (Ohio State)
7. Scott Liegel (Wisconsin)
8. Collin Zeerip (Michigan)

1. Ed Ruth (Penn State)
2. Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota)
3. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa)
4. TJ Dudley (Nebraska)
5. Domenic Abounader (Michigan)
6. Kenny Courts (Ohio State)
7. Jackson Hein (Wisconsin)
8. John Rizqallah (Michigan State)

1. Morgan McIntosh (Penn State)
2. Nick Heflin (Ohio State)
3. Scott Schiller (Minnesota)
4. Braden Atwood (Purdue)
5. Nathan Burak (Iowa)
6. Mario Gonzalez (Illinois)
7. Alex Polizzi (Northwestern)
8. Timmy McCall (Wisconsin)
9. Nick McDiarmid (Michigan State)
10. Caleb Kolb (Nebraska)
11. Chris Heald (Michigan)
12. Garret Goldman (Indiana)

1. Adam Coon (Michigan)
2. Adam Chalfant (Indiana)
3. Mike McMullan (Northwestern)
4. Bobby Telford (Iowa)
5. Tony Nelson (Minnesota)
6. Mike McClure (Michigan State)
7. Connor Medbery (Wisconsin)
8. Jon Gingrich (Penn State)
9. Collin Jensen (Nebraska)
10. Nick Tavanello (Ohio State)
11. Alex White (Purdue)
12. Chris Lopez (Illinois)


Login or Register to post a comment

barteddy (1) about 4 years ago
How is it remotely possible for Sueflohn to be seeded ahead of Dardanes?
Widowmaker (1) about 4 years ago
I totally agree! also I would have liked to see Ness Seeded 4th instead of 3rd.
dbabbitts (1) about 4 years ago
Dardanes lost to Grajales. If Grajales beats Grothus, Dardanes is a 3 seed.
Ness beat both St John and Alton, so no way he is a 4 seed.
chasev619 (1) about 4 years ago
If i were michigan Id argue the 6th seed for Grajales so he has 2 guys hes already beat.
irvonian (2) about 4 years ago
Wow! There are 4 returning national champions who didn't get top seed in their CONFERENCE tournament--two of them got #2 seeds, one got a #4 seed, and one got a #5 seed. The depth at this tourney is ridiculous.