Oregon State wins third straight Pac-12 title

Related: Results | Photos

PALO ALTO, Calif. -- The Oregon State wrestling team won its third consecutive Pac-12 Championship, with three wrestlers claiming individual titles on Sunday evening.

Joey Delgado was one of three champions for Oregon State (Photo/Tony Rotundo,
While all 10 Beaver wrestlers tallied top-three finishes, Joey Delgado (141), Scott Sakaguchi (149), and RJ Pena (157) each collect individual Pac-12 titles. Joe Latham (174), Meeks (197), and Dhesi (HWT) second-place finishes, and Pat Rollins (125), Joey Palmer (133), Toney Chay (165), and Austin Morehead (184) end the day with third-place finishes.

Automatic NCAA Berths:

Palmer (133) earned a third place finish with a win over CSU Bakersfield's Mendoza. The Pac-12 was allotted three seeds at the 133 lb. weight class, meaning Palmer earns an automatic berth to nationals.

Delgado (141) won his first individual Pac-12 Championship, giving him an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament. As a conference champion, he will be seeded high going into nationals.

Sakaguchi (149) won his second individual Pac-12 title, earning him an automatic bid to NCAA's. Sakaguchi has been ranked all year and with this latest triumph, he will see a high seeding.

Pena (157) collected his second Pac-12 Championship, giving him an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. With one of the best records in the country and a conference title under his belt, Pena will be one of the top seeds in his weight class.

Latham (174) tallied a second-place finish after falling to CSU Bakersfield's Hammond. The Pac-12 was allotted three seeds for the 174 lb. weight class, meaning that Latham's second-place finish earns him an automatic bid to the show.

Meeks (197) finished the tournament with a second-place mark, after being defeated by Stanford's Scherer. The Pac-12 was given two allotments at the 197 lb. weight class, giving Meeks an automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

Dhesi (HWT), a true freshman, earned his way to the NCAA Tournament with a second-place finish behind Boise State's J.T. Felix. With two allotments for the Pac-12 at HWT, Dhesi will round out the group of automatic bids.

As Rollins, Chay and Morehead earned third-place finishes at Pac-12's, they add to their resumes when the D1 Wrestling Association determines the 40 at-large bids. Those will be released March 12.

Team Standings:
Oregon State: 155.5
Stanford: 134.0
Boise State: 128.5
Arizona State: 111.0
CSU Bakersfield: 109.5
Cal Poly: 74.5


Login or Register to post a comment