No. 6 Lindsey Wilson defeats No. 10 Cumberland

COLUMBIA, Ky. -- The sixth-ranked Lindsey Wilson College wrestling team defeated No. 10 Cumberland (Tenn.) University 25-10 Tuesday night at Biggers Sports Center.

Lindsey Wilson improves to 9-4 in duals this season and 3-0 in the Mid-South, securing the Mid-South Conference title in the win.

Cumberland falls to 12-10 on the year and 0-3 in the Mid-South with the loss.

Before the match began, Jameel Bryant was presented with his 2013 NAIA National Championship Ring for winning the national title last season at 184 pounds.

The match started at the 157 class, with top-ranked Joe Cozart pinning Gary Shockley in the third period to give Lindsey Wilson a 6-0 lead out of the gate.

14th-ranked Mitchell Judkins followed with an upset 2-1 decision over No. 12 Kirk Johnson at the 165 class when he was able to hold on and secure the ride-time win. No. 7 Ezekial Hunt got the Bulldogs on the board with a 2-1 decision over Erick Gomez at 174.

Top-ranked Jameel Bryant won in a tight 3-2 decision over No. 3 Cody Linton to give Lindsey Wilson a 12-3 lead. Jahwon Akui followed with a 4-1 upset over No. 10 Scott Stewart at 197.

Cumberland would answer with a 7-5 decision at 285. Tyler Smith and Ameer Daniels had a back-and-forth match, with Daniels taking the lead with :30 seconds to go in the final period, but Smith getting the reversal and near fall with under 15 seconds remaining for the decision win.

No. 6 Myron Bradbury recorded a 6-0 decision over Justus Griffith at 125 to give Lindsey Wilson an 18-6 lead. Keaton Thomas then won by 6-2 decision over Dalton Baysinger at 133, mathematically sealing the win with a 21-6 lead with just two weight classes to go.

No. 3 Wismit Moinius won by a 12-4 major decision over Nate Croley at 141. No. 8 Isaac Thomas fell in an 11-3 major decision to No. 3 Jake Williams at 149 to bring the score to 25-10 in favor of Lindsey Wilson.

The Blue Raiders return to the mat on Friday when they host No. 8 Indiana Tech and No. 20 Life (Ga.) University beginning at 4 p.m. CT at Biggers Sports Center.

157 Joe Cozart (LWC) won by pin over Gary Shockley (CU) 5:57. 6.0-0.0.
165 Mitchell Judkins (LWC) won by decision over Kirk Johnson (CU) 2-1. 9.0-0.0.
174 Ezekiel Hunt (CU) won by decision over Erick Gomez (LWC) 2-1. 9.0-3.0.
184 Jameel Bryant (LWC) won by decision over Cody Linton (CU) 3-2. 12.0-3.0.
197 Jahwon Akui (LWC) won by decision over Scott Stewart (CU) 4-1. 15.0-0.0.
285 Tyler Smith (CU) won by decision over Ameer Daniels (LWC) 7-5. 15.0-6.0.
125 Myron Bradbury (LWC) won by decision over Justus Griffith (CU) 6-0. 18.0-9.0.
133 Keaton Thomas (LWC) won by decision over Dalton Baysinger (CU) 6-2. 21.0-0.0.
141 Wismit Moinius (LWC) won by major decision over Nate Croley (CU) 12-4. 25.0-0.0.
149 Jake Williams (CU) won by major decision over Isaac Thomas (LWC) 11-3. 25.0-10.0.


Login or Register to post a comment