Central Michigan takes down Kent State

Kent, Ohio -- The Central Michigan wrestling program improved to 4-2 in Mid-American Conference competition with a convincing victory at rival Kent State Sunday afternoon, 21-12.

The Chippewas (8-6, 4-2 MAC) built an early 9-0 lead behind their trio of ranked lightweights and were awarded bonus points on an injury default by No. 6 Ian Miller at 157 pounds to extend the lead to 15-3.

Redshirt freshman No. 12 Corey Keener opened the dual with a 8-3 decision over Alfredo Grey behind three takedowns and riding time, two of which came in the second period where he took control of the match.

Senior Joe Roth, ranked No. 16 at 133 pounds by InterMat, extended the lead with a 3-1 decision over Mack McGuire and it was a 9-0 CMU advantage after No. 9 Zach Horan defeated Tyler Small by decision, 5-1.

After a scoreless first period, Horan started the second on bottom and reversed Small before turning him to his back for a three-point nearfall. Small was able to earn an escape point in the third, but Horan's lead was too much to overcome.

The Golden Flashes looked to be closing the gap as Mike DePalma earned a decision over senior Scott Mattingly at 149 and Miller held a 5-2 lead over Smith, but Miller was unable to continue the match at the 5:31 mark due to an injury, awarding the Chippewas six bonus points.

Redshirt freshman Nick Becker extended the lead to 18-3 with a decision over Tyler Buckwalter at 165 pounds, 5-1, and No. 8 Mike Ottinger earned his third-straight one-point victory over Caleb Marsh, 2-1.

Ottinger held 1-0 lead after the second period and was able to prevent Marsh from escaping long enough to accumulate the necessary riding time to secure the victory and seal the match for the Maroon and Gold.

CMU is back on the road next Sunday, Feb. 2 when it travels to take on MAC affiliate Old Dominion.

125: No. 12 Corey Keener (CMU) dec. Alfredo Grey, 8-3; CMU, 3-0
133: No. 16 Joe Roth (CMU) dec. Mack McGuire, 3-1; CMU, 6-0
141: No. 9 Zach Horan (CMU) dec. Tyler Small, 5-1; CMU, 9-0
149: Mike DePalma (Kent) dec. Scott Mattingly, 11-6; CMU, 9-3
157: No. 20 Lucas Smith (dec.) win by injury default No. 6 Ian Miller, 5:31; CMU, 15-3
165: Nick Becker (CMU) dec. Tyler Buckwalter, 5-1; CMU, 18-3
174: No. 8 Mike Ottinger (CMU) dec. Caleb Marsh, 2-1; CMU, 21-3
184: No. 14 Sam Wheeler (Kent) dec. Craig Kelliher, 9-8; CMU, 21-6
197: Cole Baxter (Kent) dec. Jackson Lewis, 5-1; CMU, 21-9
285: Mimmo Lytle (Kent) dec. Adam Robinson, 3-1; CMU, 21-12


Login or Register to post a comment