Campbell breaks 13-year skid against Appalachian

BUIES CREEK, N.C. -- Campbell took its first win over Appalachian State since the 2000-01 season 26-15 Friday in the teams' Southern Conference opener. The Camels used two major decisions and two pins to earn their first dual meet win of the season.

Sophomore Taylor McGiffen put CU ahead early with a 11-2 major decision over Kacee Hutchinson, giving the Camels the four-point advantage. Redshirt Eloheim Palma earned his 18th win of the season at the heavyweight spot with a 7-4 decision over Denzel Dejournette, putting CU up 7-0 after two matches.

The Camels posted a forfeit at 125 pounds and freshman Drew Walker fell to William Johnson 5-2, as the Mountaineers took the 9-7 edge.

Sophomore Michael Dahlstrom regained the Camel lead with a commanding 16-5 major decision over Jake Smith at 141 pounds. The win was Dahlstrom's team-leading fourth major decision of the season and gave CU the 11-9 advantage, and the Camels held the lead for the remainder of the match.

Brent Jorge pushed the Camels to a 17-9 lead, after pinning Javon Johnson in 4:48. The pin was Jorge's fourth of the year at 149 pounds and gave the redshirt senior his 18th victory this season.

Appalachian State threatened a comeback with two straight decisions to close the score at 17-15. Nick Hall earned the 3-1 win over sophomore Grant Blumenthal at 157 pounds, and Zachary Strickland took the 7-3 victory over junior Paul Duggan at 165.

Campbell finished the dual strong, taking the final two matches and securing the 26-15 win.

Sophomore Cody Ryba picked up his first fall of the season at 174 pounds, pinning Collin Hedash in 2:37. Freshman Ville Heino secured the Camel win with an 8-3 decision over Dominick Vetell at the 184-pound spot.

The win breaks a 13-year Mountaineer winning streak. Last year the Camels threatened to end the drought, but fell 16-15 in Boone.

The Camels look to go 2-0 in SoCon action as they travel to VMI Jan. 17 at 7:00 p.m.

Taylor McGiffen (Campbell) won by major decision over Kacee Hutchinson (Appalachian State) 11-2. 4.00 0
Eloheim Palma (Campbell) won by decision over Denzel Dejournette (Appalachian State) 7-4. 3.00 0
Dominic Parisi (Appalachian State) won by forfeit over Unknown (Unattached) . 0 6.00
William Johnson (Appalachian State) won by decision over Drew Walker (Campbell) 5-2. 0 3.00
Michael Dahlstrom (Campbell) won by major decision over Jake Smith (Appalachian State) 16-5. 4.00 0
Brent Jorge (Campbell) won by pin over Javon Johnson (Appalachian State) 4:48. 6.00 0
Nick Hall (Appalachian State) won by decision over Grant Blumenthal (Campbell) 3-1. 0 3.00
Zachary Strickland (Appalachian State) won by decision over Paul Duggan (Campbell) 7-3. 0 3.00
Cody Ryba (Campbell) won by pin over Collin Hedash (Appalachian State) 2:37. 6.00 0
Ville Heino (Campbell) won by decision over Dominick Vetell (Appalachian State) 8-3. 3.00 0
Dual Meet Score 26.0 15.0


Login or Register to post a comment