Edinboro claims third straight PSAC title, Schopp OW

Related: Brackets | Team Standings

EDINBORO, Pa. -- The Edinboro wrestling team turned in a dominating performance on Saturday to come away with its third straight title in the 71st Annual PSAC Wrestling Championships. The Fighting Scots crowned six champions while hosting the event at McComb Fieldhouse, ending the day with 172.5 points. It marked the eighth title in the last nine years and 14th overall for head coach Tim Flynn.

Bloomsburg was second with 135 points, and Lock Haven was third with 102 points. Clarion had 92 points to edge Mercyhurst (90 points) for fourth place. A total of 12 teams competed in the championships.

Edinboro set a PSAC record with six straight champions to start the finals, with nine of ten Boro wrestlers reahing the finals. Kory Mines picked up his first PSAC title at 125 lbs. with an 8-2 decision over Pitt-Johnstown's Dave Fogle. A.J. Schopp, Mitchell Port, and Dave Habat followed with wins at 133, 141 and 149 lbs., respectively, all becoming three time champions.

Schopp won by fall at 1:59 over Clarion's Sam Sherlock, as the redshirt junior pinned all four of his opponents. The performance earned him Outstanding Wrestler honors.

Port won by technical fall over Matt Rappo of Bloomsburg, 16-1 (5:00), and Habat held off Bryce Busler of Bloomsburg, claiming a 5-3 decision.

Johnny Greisheimer rallied for an exciting 9-8 decision over Clarion's Austin Matthews at 157 lbs., and Kasey Burnett-Davis made it six straight Edinboro wins with a 9-4 upset of top-seeded Jake Kemerer of Lock Haven at 165 lbs. Burnett-Davis was a replacement starter for the Fighting Scots and was unseeded.

Edinboro's run of champions came to an end at 174 lbs., as Mike Dessino earned his third PSAC crown with a fall over Mercyhurst's August Mizia at 2:19. Travis McKillop became UPJ's first PSAC titlist when he won the 184 lb. championship with a win by medical forfeit over Edinboro's Vic Avery.

Bloomsburg would deny Edinboro a chance to tie the PSAC record for individual champions with wins in the final two matches. Richard Perry and Justin Grant successfully defended their crowns and 197 lbs. and heavyweight, respectively. Perry won a 7-2 decision over Vince Pickett of Edinboro at 197 lbs. Grant and Edinboro's Ernest James then renewed their rivalry, with Grant prevailing 2-1 on riding time.


1. Edinboro 172.5 pts.
2. Bloomsburg 135
3. Lock Haven 102
4. Clarion -- 92
5. Mercyhurst -- 90
6. Pitt-Johnstown -- 62
7. Kutztown -- 48.5
8. East Stroudsburg 44.5
9. Shippensburg 26
10. Gannon 17.5
11. Seton Hill 13
12. Millersville 12


First Place
125 lbs. #1 Kory Mines (EU) dec. #3 Dave Fogle (UPJ), 8-2
133 lbs. #1 A.J. Schopp (EU) fall over #3 Sam Sherlock (CU), 1:59
141 lbs. #1 Mitchell Port (EU) tech. fall #3 Matt Rappo (BU), 16-1 (5:00)
149 lbs. #1 Dave Habat (EU) dec. 32 Bryce Busler (BU), 5-3
157 lbs. #1 Johnny Greisheimer (EU) dec. #2 Austin Matthews (CU), 9-8
165 lbs. Kasey Burnett-Davis (EU) dec. #1 Jake Kemerer (LHU), 9-4
174 lbs. #1 Mike Dessino (BU) fall over #3 August Mizia (MH), 2:19
184 lbs. #2 Travis McKillop (UPJ) med. forf. 31 Vic Avery (EU)
197 lbs. #1 Richard Perry (BU) dec. #3 Vince Pickett (EU), 7-2
Hwt. -- #1 Justin Grant (BU) dec. #2 Ernest James (EU), 2-1

Third Place
125 lbs. #6 Sean Boylan (BU) dec. #2 Matt Turek (GU), 5-3
133 lbs. #2 Nick Wilcox (LHU) dec. Cody Wheeler (LHU), 5-3
141 lbs. -- #4 Dylan DUrso (MH) maj. dec. #5 Tyler Bedelyon (CU), 10-2
149 lbs. -- Joe Esposito (KU) fall over #4 Mac Maldarelli (LHU), 0:55
157 lbs. -- #3 Kevin Hartnett (BU) dec. Francis Mizia (MH), 8-7 tb1
165 lbs. -- #4 Gary Lantz (UPJ) fall over Michael Pavasko (CU), 4:50
174 lbs. #4 Zach Towers (EU) maj. dec. Adam Mackie (LHU), 16-3
184 lbs. Evan Ramos (SU) dec. Joseph Rimel (LHU), 6-0
197 lbs. -- #2 Phil Sprenkle (LHU) med. def. #5 Brandon Clark (KU)
Hwt. Andrew Welton (MH) dec. #3 Evan Daley (CU), 6-4

Fifth Place
125 lbs. Jonathan Mele (CU) maj. dec. Ryan Bohince (MU), 16-2
133 lbs. Kody Young (MH) med. forf. Evan Link (UPJ)
141 lbs. #2 Dave Cawley (UPJ) dec. David Charles (MU), 2-0
149 lbs. Ray Nicosia (ESU) med. forf. Justin Arthur (CU)
157 lbs. -- #3 Elias Biddle (LHU) dec. Zach Voytek (SHU), 6-4
165 lbs. Justin Heller (KU) med. forf. #2 Braden Turner (ESU)
174 lbs. -- #2 Ryan Darch (CU) med. forf. Joey Fogle (ESU)
184 lbs. -- #4 Giovanni Ortiz (KU) dec. #3 Sam Shirey (BU), 7-4
197 lbs. Brian Beattie (MH) med. forf. #4 Tyson Searer (ESU)
Hwt. #5 Brad Emerick (LHU) dec. Nick Budd (GU), 2-0


Login or Register to post a comment