Keith Young Invitational features superlative field

This Saturday's Keith Young Invitational hosted by Cedar Falls, Iowa has a superlative field, and presents a stern test to the 15 teams which will be present in this opening weekend event in the Hawkeye State. The field features a pair of nationally ranked teams, No. 28 Bettendorf and No. 31 Waverly-Shell Rock, as well as four nationally ranked individuals: No. 3 Fredy Stroker (Bettendorf), No. 16 (at 145) Logan Ryan (Bettendorf), No. 10 Spencer Derifield (Waverly-Shell Rock), and No. 9 (at 220) Marcus Harrington (Waterloo West).

Fredy Stroker, ranked No. 3 nationally at 132 pounds, leads No. 28 Bettendorf (Photo/Rob Preston)
In terms of weight class profiles, there are eight wrestlers ranked number one in preseason rankings for Class 3A published by The Predicament this week, ten wrestlers ranked second in their respective Class 3A weight classes, and another pair of wrestlers ranked in the top two of their Class 1A weight class. Seven weight classes feature a pair of wrestlers inside the top two of their weight class.

Joining Bettendorf and Waverly-Shell Rock as notable teams in the field are Mason City and North Scott, ranked sixth and seventh in Class 3A; and Don Bosco, which is ranked fifth in Class 1A.

The following is a listing of state ranked wrestlers by The Predicament in each weight class (all wrestlers in Class 3A unless noted):

106: No. 1 Jack Wagner (Bettendorf), No. 2 Brenden Baker (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), No. 2 in 1A Jordan Schmit (Don Bosco), No. 9 Austin Yant (Waverly-Shell Rock), and No. 10 in 2A Andrew Bush (Denver-Tripoli)

113: No. 2 Jacob Schwarm (Bettendorf) and No. 6 Nolan Hromidko (Cedar Rapids Kennedy)

120: No. 6 Paul Glynn (Bettendorf), No. 7 Kyle Briggs (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), and No. 10 Michael Zachary (Dowling Catholic)

126: No. 1 Kaz Onoo (Mason City), No. 8 Jack Koethe (West Des Moines Valley), No. 10 Spencer Nevills (Pleasant Valley), and No. 10 in 1A Grant Barron (Don Bosco)

132: No. 1 Fredy Stroker (Bettendorf), No. 2 Jack Koethe (West Des Moines Valley), No. 7 Michael Moncivais (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), and No. 7 in 2A Tad Chapin (Denver-Tripoli)

138: No. 1 Logan Ryan (Bettendorf) and No. 2 Dan Kelly (Cedar Falls)

145: No. 1 Jacob Woodard (Bettendorf), No. 2 Bryce Steiert (Waverly-Shell Rock), No. 8 Jakubb Fahrenkrug (North Scott), and No. 9 in 1A Mitchell Corkey (Don Bosco)

152: No. 3 Stone Sturges (Mason City) and No. 8 Travis Willers (Pleasant Valley)

160: No. 1 Spencer Derifield (Waverly-Shell Rock), No. 1 in 1A Jake Hogan (Don Bosco), No. 3 Isaiah Patton (Dowling Catholic), No. 7 Andrew Bartel (Mason City), and No. 10 Christian Foote (Pleasant Valley)

170: No. 1 Mitch Bowman (North Scott), No. 2 Brady Letney (Pleasant Valley), and No. 4 Corey Abernathy (Waverly-Shell Rock)

182: No. 2 Izaak Miller (Waverly-Shell Rock), No. 6 Cole Wymore (Dowling Catholic), No. 9 in 1A Austin Schmitt (Don Bosco), and No. 10 Josh Allen (Cedar Rapids Jefferson)

195: No. 1 Marcus Harrington (Waterloo West), No. 2 Colin Kreiter (North Scott), and No. 6 Thomas Foy (Waverly-Shell Rock)

220: No. 2 Kyler Matthews (Waterloo West), No. 4 Kaleb Staack (Waverly-Shell Rock), and No. 7 Cordell Eaton (North Scott)

285: No. 2 Raekwon Jefferson (Bettendorf), No. 4 Tom Schiffer (Mason City), No. 9


Login or Register to post a comment