Northwestern set to host 51st Ken Kraft Midlands

EVANSTON, Ill. -- The 51st Ken Kraft Championships will take place Sunday, Dec. 29-Monday, Dec. 30 at Northwestern's Welsh-Ryan Arena, with the championship finals being televised live on Big Ten Network Monday at 8:00 p.m. CT.

This year's championships feature more than 40 schools, with an assortment of national champions and national powers from Division I, II, III and NAIA programs participating in this historic event.

Director of the Ken Kraft Midlands, Tim Cysewski, won five Midlands titles during his days on the mats.

The annual tournament regularly features many of the top programs in the country. This year's field includes Big Ten rivals Indiana, Ohio State, Purdue, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin, while 2014 Big Ten addition, Maryland will also be in the field.

The 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championships first session begins at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday, Dec. 29, followed by the second session at 7:00 p.m.

The action continues Monday with the third session, semifinals, consolation matches and seventh place matches at noon.

The Midlands championship final sessions will air live on Big Ten Network at 8:00 p.m. CT.

Tickets for the 2013 Ken Kraft Midlands Championships can be purchased here.

Northwestern returns with 2011 Midlands champion Lee Munster and 2012 semifinalist Mike McMullan. The Wildcats will also have No. 4 Jason Tsirtsis vying for his first Midlands title at 149 pounds.

The 2013 field features 14 schools in the NWCA Preseason Coaches Poll Top 25 or receiving votes.

2013 Participants (with Current Intermat Rankings)
No. 17 Boise State
Cal Bakersfield
Cal Poly University
Eastern Michigan
No. 13 Edinboro
Franklin and Marshall
George Mason University
No. 28 Indiana
North Dakota State
Northern Illinois
No. 16 Northern Iowa
No. 11 Northwestern
No. 11 Ohio State
No. 10 Illinois
No. 2 Iowa
No. 17 Maryland
No. 19 Michigan
No. 14 Wisconsin
No. 21 Virginia Tech
Utah Valley
Adams State College
Elmhurst College
Luther College
North Central College
University of Chicago
Wartburg College (No. 1 in DIII)
Wheaton College
John Carroll
Wisconsin Oshkosh
Nebraska Kearney (No. 1 in DII)
Southern Oregon University (No. 2 NAIA)
Grand View (No. 1 NAIA)


Login or Register to post a comment