NCAA champs Molinaro, Simaz among Tour ACW titlists

PITTSBURGH -- The inaugural Tour ACW event took place on Sunday in Pittsburgh, and the five champions took home checks for $2,500.

Tour ACW has a set of rules that brings together elements of folkstyle and freestyle wrestling. There are two ways for a wrestler to win: by pinning his opponent, or by being the first to score ten points.

All five champions crowned on Sunday were multiple-time NCAA Division I All-Americans, with two being past NCAA Division I champions.

Frank Molinaro and Cam Simaz, both NCAA Division I champions in 2012 and four-time All-Americans, claimed titles at 155 pounds and 205 pounds respectively.

Molinaro, who wrestled collegiately at Penn State, registered four takedowns in a 10-1 victory over Kyle Borshoff in the finals at 155 pounds.

Simaz, a former Cornell wrestler, used a takedown and two turns to pace him to a 10-5 victory over Deron Winn in the championship match at 205 pounds.

Former Iowa wrestler Daniel Dennis captured at the title at 135 pounds by defeating Jarrod Garnett in the finals, 10-2. Dennis scored with three three-point throws in the championship match.

Two former Missouri multiple-time All-Americans, Nick Marable and Dom Bradley, earned Tour ACW titles.

Marable won a high-scoring, seesaw battle over past NCAA champion Jay Borschel, 12-7, in the finals at 170 pounds.

Bradley, a past Junior World champion, was the lone entrant at 265 pounds.

Finals Results:
135: Daniel Dennis over Jarrod Garnett, 10-2, 2:06
155: Frank Molinaro over Kyle Borshoff, 10-1, 8:18
170: Nick Marable over Jay Borschel, 12-7, 16:42
205: Cam Simaz over Deron Winn, 10-5, 5:23
265: Dom Bradley was uncontested


Login or Register to post a comment