OSU, Minnesota advance to finals of National Duals

MINNEAPOLIS -- Oklahoma State and Minnesota advanced to the finals of the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals for the second year in a row. Tonight's final round will take place at 7:30 p.m. CT. InterMat will continue its live blog coverage for fans to follow the action and interact.

Below are summaries and results from the semifinals matches.

Oklahoma State 22, Missouri 9

Oklahoma State fell behind early after losing two of the first three matches before reeling off five consecutive wins to take command of the dual meet. Chris Perry avenged his only regular season loss by defeating Todd Porter 3-2 at 174 pounds. At heavyweight, Alan Gelogaev knocked off top-ranked Dom Bradley 4-3, avenging a loss from the Southern Scuffle.

125: No. 4 Alan Waters (Missouri) dec. Eddie Klimara (Oklahoma State), 3-1
133: No. 7 Jon Morrison (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 5 Nathan McCormick (Missouri), 5-1
141: Nick Hucke (Missouri) dec. Julian Feikert (Oklahoma State), 4-1
149: No. 1 Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) maj. dec. No. 15 Drake Houdashelt (Missouri), 15-5
157: No. 9 Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 19 Kyle Bradley (Missouri), 6-2
165: No. 3 Tyler Caldwell (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 16 Zach Toal (Missouri), 4-0
174: No. 2 Chris Perry (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 13 Todd Porter (Missouri), 3-2
184: No. 11 Chris Chionuma (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 12 Mike Larson (Missouri), 6-4
197: No. 18 Brent Haynes (Missouri) dec. Darnell Bortz (Oklahoma State), 10-4
285: No. 3 Alan Gelogaev (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 1 Dom Bradley (Missouri), 4-3

Minnesota 22, Iowa 15

Minnesota avenged its earlier season loss to Iowa with 22-15 victory on Saturday afternoon. At 141, ninth-ranked Nick Dardanes of Minnesota turned around a loss to Mark Ballweg and picked up a bonus point victory. Dylan Ness kept the momentum going for the Gophers by pinning Mike Kelly at 149 pounds. Iowa won picked up wins at 157 and 165 with Derek St. John and Nick Moore respectively to give the Hawkeyes a 15-10 lead. But the Gophers swept the final four matches take the dual meet.

125: No. 1 Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. No. 13 David Thorn (Minnesota), 8-2
133: No. 2 Tony Ramos (Iowa) pinned No. 8 Chris Dardanes (Minnesota), 6:56
141: No. 9 Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) maj. dec. No. 7 Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 12-4
149: No. 6 Dylan Ness (Minnesota) pinned Mike Kelly (Iowa), 2:39
157: No. 1 Derek St. John (Iowa) dec. Danny Zilverberg (Minnesota), 7-4
165: No. 13 Nick Moore (Iowa) dec. No. 14 Cody Yohn (Minnesota), 4-2
174: No. 1 Logan Storley (Minnesota) dec. No. 3 Mike Evans (Iowa), 3-1
184: No. 5 Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) dec. Grant Gambrall (Iowa), 4-0
197: No. 11 Scott Schiller (Minnesota) dec. No. 19 Nathan Burak (Iowa), 9-3
285: No. 2 Tony Nelson (Minnesota) dec. No. 6 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-1


Login or Register to post a comment