Nebraska-Kearney dominates Fort Hays State

Kearney, Neb. -- Senior Nick Bauman recorded a fall and junior Mark Fiala had a major decision to help 7th-ranked Nebraska-Kearney beat 20th-ranked Fort Hays State, 28-6, Thursday night in Kansas.

The Lopers finish the dual season 12-3 (4-1) while the Tigers fall to 11-8 (2-3). In his 14th season as head coach, UNK Marc Bauer now had 180 dual victories and nine straight seasons of 10 or more dual wins.

Three of the first five matches of the night were decided by one point with Hays winning two of them. Fourth-ranked Daniel DeShazer (Wichita, Kans.) managed a 4-3 win at 133 lbs., top-ranked Raufeon Stots (Houston, Texas) recorded a 3-2 decision at 149 lbs. and third-ranked Chase White (Lincoln H.S.) posted a 2-1 win at 157 lbs.

UNK got some breathing room after Fiala (Seward) won by a 14- 5 score at 184 lbs. After redshirt freshman Romero Cotton (Hutchinson, Kans.) upset 5th-ranked Tanner Kriss, 9-5, for a second straight week at 197 ls., Bauman (Broomfield, Colo.) recorded a fall at 4:53 to end the night.

The Lopers and Tigers head to Chadron next weekend for the Super 4 Regional. The top four finishers in that tournament advance to the NCAA's in Birmingham, Ala.

The rest of the MIAA will find itself at the Super Region 2 Tournament in Ashland, Ohio.

125 Garrett Jones (Fort Hays State) won by decision over Connor Bolling (Nebraska-Kearney) 8-3. 3 0
133 Daniel DeShazer (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Rory Wilkinson (Fort Hays State) 4-3. 0 3
141 Charles Napier (Fort Hays State) won by decision over Brock Coutu (Nebraska-Kearney) 8-5. 3 0
149 Raufeon Stots (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Noah Killip (Fort Hays State) 3-2. 0 3
157 Chase White (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Derek Koehn (Fort Hays State) 2-1. 0 3
165 Chase Nelson (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Sam Thoman (Fort Hays State) 5-2. 0 3
174 Patrick Martinez (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Travis Budke (Fort Hays State) 10-6. 0 3
184 Mark Fiala (Nebraska-Kearney) won by major decision over Zack Grimes (Fort Hays State) 14-5. 0 4
197 Romero Cotton (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Tanner Kriss (Fort Hays State) 9-5. 0 3
285 Nick Bauman (Nebraska-Kearney) won by pin over John Close (Fort Hays State) 4:53. 0 6


Login or Register to post a comment