Springfield wins City of Springfield championship

Springfield, Mass. -- The Springfield College wrestling team dominated local-foes Western New England, American International, and STCC on Tuesday as it captured the City of Springfield Wrestling Championship.

Tom Casper had three victories, including two by pin, to lead the way for the Pride. Eric Hamrick also was victorious in all three of his matches, wrestling in three different weight classes.

The Pride, which is ranked 12th in the nation, is currently riding a 10-match winning streak as it improves to 11-2 on the year.

Springfield will return to action this Saturday in a quad meet at Plymouth State with Trinity and Johnson & Wales.

Springfield 31, Western New England 19
125: Tom Casper (SC) pin, Stephen Colling (WNE), 1:06
133: Victor Ekpenyong (SC) pin Robby Ferrante (WNE), 4:32
141: Sean Mcallister (WNE) major Mark Pinto (SC), 9-0
149: Josh Hadley (SC) dec. Robert Cox (WNE), 6-5
157: Mark Gonzalez (SC) injury default, Nik Moreschi (WNE)
165: Eric Hamrick (SC) pin Zach Bantle (WNE), 2:03
174: Michael Fish (SC) major Henry Mckenna (WNE), 10-2
184: Mike Frizinia (WNE) dec. Nicholas Camera (SC), 3-2
197: Jeremy Burns (SC) dec. Dylan Kniska (WNE), 2-0
285: Jamison Sacco (WNE) pin John Gabordi (SC), 0:56

Springfield 41, STCC 10
125: Tom Casper (SC) pin Derek Lopes (STCC) 4:58
133: Mizam Tamaradze (STCC) tech. fall Victor Ekpenyong (SC) 16-2
141: Simeon Everett (STCC) tech. fall Mark Pinto (SC) 16-1
149: Josh Hadley (SC) win by forfeit
157: Eric Hamrick (SC) major James Zupko (STCC) 16-4
165: Mark Gonzalez (SC) pin Mario Encarnacion (STCC), 6:03
174: Vincent Silano (SC) pin Quoc Pham (STCC), 4:28
184: Nicholas Camera (SC) dec. Brendan Riggins (STCC) 8-2
197: Jeremy Burns (SC) major Rahmel Hill (STCC), 11-2
285: John Gaboradi (SC) win by forfeit

Springfield College 42, American International 13
125: Tom Casper (SC) win by forfeit
133: Max Flanagan (SC) pin Cole Ludorf (AIC) 1:05
141: Mark Pinto (SC) pin Andrew Lischke (AIC) 4:58
149: Brandan Walsh (AIC) maj Josh Hadley (SC) 11-1
157: Will Honer (AIC) win by forfeit
165: Kim Pearce (SC) win by forfeit
174: Vincent Silano (SC) win by forfeit
184: Nicholas Camera (SC) pin Zach Van Ess (AIC) 4:46
197: Eric Hamrick (SC) win by forfeit
285: Matthew Pringle (AIC) dec Jeremy Burns (SC) 14-7


Login or Register to post a comment