St. Cloud State downs MSU-Moorhead

St. Cloud, Minn. -- The #1 St. Cloud State University wrestling team moved to 12-0, 2-0 NSIC on the season with a convincing 34-3 win over NSIC rival Minnesota State, Moorhead (6-3, 1-1 NSIC) on Thursday, Dec. 17 at Halenbeck Hall in St. Cloud, Minn. This was SCSU's 38th consecutive dual match victory.

The Huskies opened the match with a 5-2 win by #8 Clint Poster at 157-pounds, which pushed his season mark to 22-2. The Huskies then rolled with six consecutive wins to ice the victory.

At 165-pounds Gabe Fogarty gained an 8-2 win for SCSU and Kurt Salmen posted a 6-3 win at 174-pounds to give the Huskies a 9-0 lead in the match. #2 Shamus O'Grady added some extra points to the tally with a big 16-4 major win at 184-pounds and then Mic Berg hit hard and hit fast with a 1:19 fall at 197-pounds.

In the match for 285-pounds, SCSU's Caleb White coined a 9-3 win for the Huskies before teammate Eric Forde received a forfeit win at 125.

The Huskies lone loss of the night was at 133-pounds as Eric Ellington lost an exciting 9-8 tiebreaker in OT. SCSU got right back on track at 141-pounds with a 4-3 win by Jay Hildreth and then SCSU capped the evening with a 10-5 win by Josh Howk at 149-pounds.

SCSU will continue its 2013 season on Jan. 19 with a trip to Kenosha, Wis. for the Ranger Duals. SCSU is schedule to face Findlay, Indianapolis and McKendree at the tournament hosted by Wisconsin-Parkside.

Match Summary SCS MSM
157 Clint Poster (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Jacob Bennett (Minnesota State Moorhead) 5-2. 3.00 0
165 Gabe Fogarty (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Kerron Williams (Minnesota State Moorhead) 8-2. 3.00 0
174 Kurt Salmen (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Jesse Munos (Minnesota State Moorhead) 6-3. 3.00 0
184 Shamus O`Grady (St. Cloud State) won by major decision over Matthew Lewellen (Minnesota State Moorhead) 16-4. 4.00 0
197 Michael Berg (St. Cloud State) won by pin over Lucas Moderow (Minnesota State Moorhead) 1:19. 6.00 0
285 Caleb White (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Gerad Fugleberg (Minnesota State Moorhead) 9-3. 3.00 0
125 Eric Forde (St. Cloud State) won by forfeit over Unknown (Unattached) . 6.00 0
133 Philippe Walker (Minnesota State Moorhead) won in tie breaker 1 over Eric Ellington (St. Cloud State) 9-8. 0 3.00
141 Jay Hildreth (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Angel Vega (Minnesota State Moorhead) 4-3. 3.00 0
149 Josh Howk (St. Cloud State) won by decision over Mariano Portillo (Minnesota State Moorhead) 10-5. 3.00 0


Login or Register to post a comment