Clovis wins Doc Buchanan title with depth, volume

Related Content: Results | Photos (

Clovis outpointed Wyoming Seminary to win the Doc Buchanan title (Photo/John Sachs,

CLOVIS, Calif. -- Host Clovis, ranked No. 15 nationally, won the team title at the Doc Buchanan Invitational on Saturday night with extreme depth and volume. The Cougars were led by weight class champions in Adrian Salas (182) and No. 3 Nick Nevills (285) in their effort to outpoint No. 2 Wyoming Seminary, Pa., 180 to 178.

Nick Nevills (Photo/John Sachs,
The team battle came down to the evenings second-to-last match, where it was Nevills beating No. 9 Michael Johnson (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.) 4-0. Nevills scored two points in each the second and third period to flip a two point team race deficit into a two point advantage. However, the real key was the injury default win for Salas at 182, as No. 1 Eric Morris (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.) was unable to compete due to injury sustained in an earlier match.

Six additional wrestlers placed for Clovis, to make it a total of eight. Three wrestlers placed third -- Jonas Gayton at 126 pounds, Jason Ladd at 145, and Matt Weiss at 195; another pair -- Julian Gayton at 113 and Khristian Olivas at 120 -- placed sixth; while Brody Brand at 160 finished seventh.

The Blue Knights fell short despite having four finalists, in part because No. 18 Judson Preskitt, at 126 pounds, was their lone champion; he won his match 6-4 against Vincent Gomez (Bakersfield Frontier). As already mentioned, Morris had to injury default at 182 and Johnson lost 4-0 to Nevills from Clovis; while No. 15 Garrett Ryan also lost 4-0 to No. 4 Spencer Empey (Reed, Nev.) at 220 pounds.

In addition, four wrestlers came through consolation to earn medals for Wyoming Seminary: Chris Weiler finished third at 160 pounds, while Tyrel White (152), Nick Hall (170), and Matt Doggett (195) all finished seventh.

Despite no champions, Poway used a balanced approach -- as they always seem to do -- to finish third in the tournament with 130.5 points from seven scoring placers. Leading the way were runner-up finishes from Sergio Enloe (138) and Victor Lopez (145), Ralphy Tovar (132) finished fourth, No. 17 Steve Cervantes (170) and Tim Chassen (220) finished fifth, No. 18 Tirso Lara (106) finished sixth as he injury defaulted both consolation matches after his semifinal loss, and Kimo Dial (120) was eighth. The Titans also had a non-scoring wrestler, Gabe Faller, place sixth at 132 pounds.

Fourth in the team standings, and with the individual stars of the tournament, was St. John Bosco. They had three weight class champions in No. 1 Zahid Valencia (113), No. 1 Aaron Pico (132), and No. 14 Anthony Valencia (138). Zahid upended No. 14 Israel Saavedra (Modeto) 9-2 in the final; Pico earned a 10-4 victory over No. 11 Javier Gasca (Kingsburg, Calif.), after pinning three of four previous opponents, only the semifinal against Tovar went the distance in a 23-11 major decision; while Anthony had an 18-5 major decision victory over Enloe in the final after four pins prior to that.

Three other championship matches featured a pair of nationally ranked wrestlers, and in all three matches the lower ranked wrestler happened to win. At 120 pounds, No. 13 Mason Pengilly (Porterville) defeated defending state champion No. 10 Isaiah Locsin (Live Oak) 5-3 in overtime. In the 152-pound weight class, No. 20 Reed Van Anrooy (Roseburg, Ore.) avenged a 3-2 loss from the Reno Tournament of Champions to defeat No. 9 Shayne Tucker (Bella Vista) 5-3 in overtime. At 170 pounds, No. 13 Corey Griego (Sultana) avenged a loss from the third place match of the Walsh Ironman to upend No. 9 Peter Santos (Oakmont) 1-0.

Doc B Champs (Photo/John Sachs,
Additional weight class champions were Matt Gamble (Monache) at 106 pounds, who beat No. 18 Lara 9-7 in the semifinal before defeating returning state placer Adrian Campasano (Central) 19-12 in the final; state champion Nikko Villarreal (Gilroy) at 145, who beat a pair of state placers in Ladd and Lopez on the way to the title; No. 2 Isaiah Martinez (Lemoore) at 160, who had four pins and a 16-1 technical fall in the final against Nick Fiegener (Folsom) in his championship run; and Mason Kumashiro (Los Alamitos), who beat Nicolas Johnson (Murieta Valley) 6-5 in the final.

Team Standings:
1. No. 15 Clovis, Calif. 180
2. No. 2 Wyoming Seminary, Pa. 178
3. No. 19 Poway, Calif. 130.5
4. St. John Bosco, Calif. 111
5. Gilroy, Calif. 89
6. No. 45 Buchanan, Calif. 71.5
7. Bakersfield 66.5
8. Wasco, Calif. 63

Finals Results (all California unless noted):
106: Matt Gamble (Monache) dec. Adrian Campasano (Central), 19-13
113: No. 1 Zahid Valencia (St. John Bosco) dec. No. 14 Israel Saavedra (Modesto), 9-3
120: No. 13 Mason Pengilly (Porterville) dec. No. 10 Isaiah Locsin (Live Oak), 5-3 SV
126: No. 18 Judson Preskitt (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.) dec. Vincent Gomez (Bakersfield Frontier), 6-4
132: No. 1 Aaron Pico (St. John Bosco) dec. No. 11 Javier Gasca (Kingsburg), 10-4
138: No. 14 Anthony Valencia (St. John Bosco) major dec. Sergio Enloe (Poway), 18-5
145: Nikko Villarreal (Gilroy) dec. Victor Lopez (Poway), 5-3
152: No. 20 Reed Van Anrooy (Roseburg, Ore.) dec. No. 9 Shayne Tucker (Bella Vista), 5-3 SV
160: No. 2 Isaiah Martinez (Lemoore) tech. fall Nick Fiegener (Folsom), 16-1
170: No. 13 Corey Griego (Sultana) dec. No. 9 Peter Santos (Oakmont), 1-0
182: Adrian Salas (Clovis) won by injury default over No. 1 Eric Morris (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.)
195: Mason Kumashiro (Los Alamitos) dec. Nicolas Johnson (Murieta Valley), 8-5
220: No. 4 Spencer Empey (Reed, Nev.) dec. No. 15 Garrett Ryan (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.), 4-0
285: No. 3 Nick Nevills (Clovis) dec. No. 9 Michael Johnson (Wyoming Seminary, Pa.), 4-0


Login or Register to post a comment