Bloomsburg wins Brute Invitational

Related Content: Results

LOCK HAVEN -- The Bloomsburg University wrestling team put on a dominating performance in winning the 2012 Brute Invitational on Saturday at Lock Haven University. The Huskies captured five first place titles and had a total of 12 placewinners to easily win the team race totaling 198.5 points to 154.5 for second place Kent State.

Capturing individual crowns for the Huskies were Nick Wilcox (Greene, NY/Greene Central) at 133 pounds; Frank Hickman (Castle Hayne, NC/E.A. Laney) at 157 pounds; Josh Veltre (Rochester, NY/Greece Olympia) at 165 pounds; Richard Perry (Meriden, CT/Middletown) at 197 and Justin Grant (Easton/Easton) at 285 pounds.

"It is a good feeling to perform at high level," said Huskies head coach John Stutzman. "It was a great team win, but like anything else, the only that matters most is our next competition. We need to start preparing for Maryland in a week."

Wilcox got the championship parade started for the Huskies at 133. Trailing 2-1 to Mackenzie McGuire of Kent State in the third period, Wilcox scored a late reversal, then, added a point for riding time to post a 4-2 victory. In his first three matches of the tournament Wilcox allowed just one point. The junior had wins by scores of 8-0, 7-1 and 8-0 to reach the title bout.

At 157 pounds Hickman scored his second win over Wally Maziarz of Buffalo in the last 11 days. In the finals Hickman ended the match with four takedowns and a point for riding time to post a 11-2 victory. Hickman rolled to the finals with wins by fall (opening round) and two by major decision.

Veltre scored a 2-1 win at 165 pounds over Caleb Marsh of Kent State. Veltre got a second period takedown, then, held on for the win allowing just a third period escape. Veltre won his first two matches by decision to reach the finals.

At 197 pounds Richard Perry (Meriden, CT/Middletown) won the title with a 3-1, sudden victory over Jacob Henderson of Old Dominion. Perry had pinned his way to the finals picking up a second period fall in his opener and a first period fall in the semi-finals.

Justin Grant (Easton/Easton) won the 285-pound title with a first period pin of Keith Witt of Kent State. The pin was the second of the day for Grant who had a second period fall in his opening match, then had a 9-2 decision in the semi-finals.

Along with those five champions, the Huskies also had six other placewinners: Sean Boylan (Seaville, NJ/St. Marks) was third at 125; Matt Rappo (Holland/Council Rock South) third at 141; Dan Gaylord (Vestal, NY/Vestal) fifth at 141; Kevin Hartnett (Staten Island, NY/Monsignor Farrell) third at 165; Chris Smith (Mineral, Va./Chancelor) third at 174; and Andre Petroski (Glenn Mills/Springfield) fifth at 184.

The Huskies are back in action on Saturday, Jan. 5 hosting nationally-ranked Maryland at 5 p.m. at the Nelson Field House.


Login or Register to post a comment