Oregon State powers past North Dakota State

FARGO, N.D. -- The No. 13 ranked Oregon State wrestling team flexed their muscles against No. 22 North Dakota State Sunday, using seven victories from five ranked wrestlers to defeat the Bison 26-11, in Fargo.

NDSU got out to a quick 3-0 lead with a close 13-12 win from No. 5 Trent Sprenkle over OSU freshman Joey Palmer in the 125 lb. bout. That slim Bison advantage would not last for long as the Beavers would reel off four straight victories and five in the next six weight classes to open up a sizeable 20-8 lead. That winning stretch was headlined by No. 8 Scott Sakaguchi's pin (4:07) over North Dakota State's Joey Garner in the 149 lb. match, which gave six crucial points to the Orange and Black.

Other OSU victories during the streak included No. 4 Mike Mangrum with a major decision (17-5) in the 141 lb. match, preceded by redshirt freshman Drew Van Anrooy's first collegiate dual win, coming via a 9-6 decision in the 133 lb. bout. 157 pounder and No. 10 ranked RJ Pena made it four Oregon State wins in a row and stretched the Beaver lead to a commanding 17-3 advantage, with his major decision (13-2) over Bison wrestler Hayden Zillmer.

Rounding out the action for Head Coach Jim Zalesky and his victorious Beavers on Sunday was Cody Weishoff (174 lbs.), wrestling in his first dual of the season, who added a 4-0 decision of his own, along with No. 10 Taylor Meeks (197 lbs.), who brought home his second straight dual victory with a 14-9 decision.

OSU Heavyweight and No. 6 rated Chad Hanke took to the mats with his team leading 23-11 and refused to let NDSU get any closer as he put away the Bison's Evan Knutson with a 10-4 decision to give the No. 13 ranked team in the nation a hard earned 15-point victory.

With the win, Oregon State moved to 2-2 on the year and remained 1-2 in Pac-12 play, while North Dakota State fell to 2-3 overall, yet to compete in a conference match.

Between Sunday's meet with NDSU and Saturday's match-up with Minnesota, there were a number of OSU wrestlers who had a perfect weekend on the mats. They included Mangrum, Sakaguchi, Pena and Meeks who all went 2-0 in competition between the two duals. Among the quartet of wrestlers, Sakaguchi has the longest winning streak with four straight, dating back to the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invite (Nov. 30-Dec.1), while he and Pena hold the best records on the team with a pair of 12-1 marks.

The Beavers, who are now finished with dual competition for the 2012 calendar year, will take part in the Reno Tournament of Champions next Sunday, Dec. 16 before traveling to the Land of Lincoln to compete in the Midlands Championships from Dec.29-30 in Evanston, Ill.

OSU's next dual will be the sequel to the 2012-13 edition of the Border War as the Beavers play host to Boise State, Saturday, Jan. 5 at 4:30 pm on the Pac-12 Networks.

Tickets to home Beaver wrestling events can be purchased online by going to or by calling 1-800-GO-BEAVS. Tickets may also be purchased in person at the Oregon State ticket office inside Gill Coliseum, which is open from 9a.m. - 5p.m., Monday through Friday.

--Wrestling in their first dual meets of the year Sunday, were 174 pounder Cody Weishoff and Joe Latham (165 lbs.)
--A total of five OSU wrestlers have won 10 or more matches this season, they include Mike Mangrum (12-2), Scott Sakaguchi (12-1), RJ Pena (12-1), Chad Hanke (12-2) and Taylor Meeks (10-2)
--Scott Sakaguchi won his 80th career match this weekend, with his two victories he now stands at 81-21, a staggering 60 wins over the .500 mark

125 - No. 5 Trent Sprenkle (NDSU) dec. Joey Palmer (OSU), 13-12 / NDSU 3, OSU 0
133 - Drew Van Anrooy (OSU) dec. Josh Rodriguez (NDSU), 9-6 / NDSU 3, OSU 3
141 - No. 4 Mike Mangrum (OSU) maj. dec. Mark Erickson (NDSU), 17-5 / OSU 7, NDSU 3
149 - No. 8 Scott Sakaguchi (OSU) fall Joe Garner (NDSU), 4:07 / OSU 13, NDSU 3
157 -No. 10 RJ Pena (OSU) maj. dec. Hayden Zillmer (NDSU), 12-2 / OSU 17, NDSU 3
165 -No. 7 Steven Monk (NDSU) tech. fall Joe Latham (OSU), 16-0 (3:55) / OSU 17, NDSU 8
174 - Cody Weishoff (OSU) dec. Julson (NDSU), 4-0 / OSU 20, NDSU 8
184 - No. 16 Mac Stoll (NDSU) dec. Ty Vinson (OSU), 7-2 / OSU 20, NDSU 11
197 - No. 10 Taylor Meeks (OSU) dec. Kallen Kleinschmidt (NDSU), 14-9 / OSU 23, NDSU 11
Hwt - No. 6 Chad Hanke (OSU) dec. Evan Knutson (NDSU), 10-4 / OSU 26, NDSU 16


Login or Register to post a comment