No. 25 McDonogh dominates at Ray Oliver Invitational

OWINGS MILLS, Md. -- When most people look at McDonogh Wrestling, they think about the terrific trio of Jack Clark, Toby Hague, and Myles Martin -- all of whom made the National Prep finals last year. However, what we learned over the weekend at the Ray Oliver Invitational was that the Eagles offer much more.

Seven other wrestlers finished in the top three, and that was without the services of returning National Prep placer Wyatt Cook. That group was led by senior Tyler Patrick, who upset No. 16 Troy Murtha (Georgetown Prep, Md.) 5-3 in the 182 pound final. Runner-up finishes came from freshman T.K. Megonigal at 106 pounds, senior Logan Meister at 132, senior Xavi Ramos at 138, and sophomore Mike Smith at 195. Freshman Sam Martino took third at 126, while senior Dan Maltsev joined him with a third place finish at 220.

Josh Llopez (Photo/Dave Jedlicka)
Junior Jack Clark, ranked No. 8 nationally at 145, won his third consecutive Ray Oliver title with an 11-5 victory over National Prep placer Michael Sprague (Georgetown Prep, Md.). Fellow junior Toby Hague made it back-to-back Ray Oliver titles with a 10-2 major decision over Max Wilt (Caesar Rodney, Del.) at 152. Sophomore Myles Martin, ranked No. 10 nationally at 152, extended Junior National freestyle champion Josh Llopez, ranked No. 5 nationally in the 160 pound final; Llopez won a 6-4 overtime decision.

Other nationally ranked wrestlers to win a title at the Ray Oliver Invitational were No. 7 Brent Fleetwood (Smyrna, Del.) at 113 pounds, No. 8 Alfred Bannister (Bishop McNamara, Md.) at 138, and No. 1 Kyle Snyder (Good Counsel, Md.) at 220.

Additional weight class champions were Jake Vosburgh (St. Mary's Ryken, Md.) at 106 pounds, Kevin Budock (Good Counsel, Md.) at 120, Micah Hight (Caesar Rodney, Del.) with an overtime decision at 126, Daniel Sanchez (Georgetown Prep, Md.) at 132, Logan Breitenbach (Archbishop Spalding, Md.) at 170, Spencer Neff (Good Counsel, Md.) at 195, and Shane Cockerlie (Gilman School, Md.) at 285.

It was McDonogh winning a repeat title at the Ray Oliver with 261 points, which out-distanced Smyrna, Del. (209.5) and Good Counsel, Md. (208.5).

Finals Results:
106: Jake Vosburgh (St. Mary's Ryken) dec. T.K. Megonigal (McDonogh), 5-0
113: No. 7 Brent Fleetwood (Smryna, Del.) maj. dec. Steven Simpson (St. Mary's Ryken), 10-1
120: Kevin Budock (Good Counsel) dec. Othniel Edmond (Smyrna, Del.), 7-2
126: Micah Hight (Caesar Rodney, Del.) dec. Tyler Carney (Smyrna, Del.), 3-1 SV
132: Daniel Sanchez (Georgetown Prep) dec. Logan Meister (McDonogh), 3-1
138: No. 8 Alfred Bannister (Bishop McNamara) maj. dec. Xavi Ramos (McDonogh), 16-5
145: No. 8 Jack Clark (McDonogh) dec. Michael Sprauge (Georgetown Prep), 11-5
152: Toby Hague (McDonogh) maj. dec. Max Wilt (Caesar Rodney, Del.), 10-2
160: No. 5 Josh Llopez (St. Mary's Ryken) dec. No. 10 (at 152) Myles Martin (McDonogh), 6-4 SV
170: Logan Breitenbach (Archbishop Spalding) dec. Zach Boyles (Smryna, Del.), 8-2
182: Tyler Patrick (McDonogh) dec. No. 16 Troy Murtha (Georgetown Prep), 5-3
195: Spencer Neff (Good Counsel) won by medical forfeit over Mike Smith (McDonogh)
220: No. 1 Kyle Snyder (Good Counsel) pinned Tate Dulaney (Langley, Va.), 0:14
285: Shane Cockerlie (Gilman School) pinned Jemal Averette (Good Counsel), 2:17


Login or Register to post a comment