Oklahoma State wins 4 titles at Lindenwood Open

ST. CHARLES, Mo. -- The Oklahoma State wrestling team had four Cowboys crowned champs at the Joe Parisi Lindenwood Open on Saturday at the Robert F. Hyland Arena.

Picking up titles were 2011 NCAA champion Jordan Oliver, All-Americans Tyler Caldwell and Chris Perry, and redshirt freshman Alex Dieringer.

In Oliver's debut at the 149-pound bracket, the senior grabbed four pins and two major decisions to take the title. Dieringer had three pins all under three minutes en route to winning the 157 bracket. At 165, Caldwell met Missouri's Zach Toal in the championship match, where he picked up 7-0 win. Perry, who had five bonus-points wins, including his 1:18 fall over Todd Porter in the finals, was the last champ of the day for the Cowboys.

OSU produced three runner-up finishes in 133-pounder Jon Morrison, 184-pounder and former Lindenwood athlete Chris Chionuma and heavyweight Austin Marsden.

Several other Cowboys placed throughout the day, including Eddie Klimara, Laddie Rupp, Julian Feikert, Josh Kindig, Colton Thomas, Kyle Crutchmer, Nolan Boyd, Darnell Bortz, Austin Schafer, Blake Rosholt and Tyson Yoder.

The Cowboys will begin dual action Nov. 25 when they take on the Penn Quakers at Gallagher-Iba Arena.

Lindenwood Open | Oklahoma State Results
125: Eddie Klimara (4th), Gunnar Woodburn (did not place), Tyler Dorrell (did not place), Connor Cline (did not place)
133: Jon Morrison (2nd), Laddie Rupp (3rd), Brian Crutchmer (did not place), Austin Hood (did not place)
141: Julian Feikert (4th), Case Garrison (did not place), Lincoln Lemon (did not place)
149: Jordan Oliver (1st), Josh Kindig (3rd), Connor Baxter (did not place), Michael Martin (did not place), Matt White (did not place)
157: Alex Dieringer (1st), Colton Thomas (6th), Joe Ali (did not place)
165: Tyler Caldwell (1st), Sam Mehan (did not place)
174: Chris Perry (1st), Kyle Crutchmer (3rd)
184: Chris Chionuma (2nd), Nolan Boyd (4th), Jordan Rogers (did not place), Landry Chappell (did not place), Blace Walser (did not place), Quinten Patterson (did not place), Zach White (did not place)
197: Darnell Bortz (4th), Austin Schafer (5th), Blake Rosholt (6th), Colton Hill (did not place)
285: Austin Marsden (2nd), Tyson Yoder (4th)

Championship Finals:
125: Alan Waters, Missouri dec. Jarrod Patterson, Oklahoma, 7-2
133: Nathan McCormick, Missouri dec. Jon Morrison, Oklahoma State, 4-3
141: Trevor Jauch, Missouri dec. Eric Wilson, Missouri, 2-1
149: Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State MD Drake Houdashelt, Missouri,12-4
157: Alex Dieringer, Oklahoma State MD Kyle Bradley, Missouri, 12-3
165: Tyler Caldwell, Oklahoma State dec. Zach Toal, Missouri, 7-0
174: Chris Perry, Oklahoma State fall Todd Porter, Missouri, 1:18
184: Travis Rutt, Oklahoma dec. Chris Chionuma, Oklahoma State, 3-1
197: Brent Haynes, Missouri dec. Kyle Reid, McKendree, 3-1
285: Dom Bradley, Missouri dec. Austin Marsden, Oklahoma State, 3-2


Login or Register to post a comment